Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I wanted a quick and easy meal for just myself the other night and this was perfect. It reminded me of a recipe I have for crostini. I cut the recipe in half with the thought of leftovers, but then my brother came in and finished it off. We both loved it, the only change I made was I added just a squeeze of lemon juice and 1 or 2 tablespoons of butter. Will surely be making this again. UPDATE: I have made this many times now with the following modifications. I double the amount of olive oil. I don't add the breadcrumbs to the sauce. I pour the sauce over the pasta, then add the breadcrumbs and cheese (I don't measure) and toss together. Much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This wasn't a big hit. I get that it is supposed to be dry, but it was really too dry and bread crumby for our taste. It did make a decent side dish for frozen breaded parmesan herb fish patties the next night, after the addition of more olive oil and garlic to perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was great! Very easy! I actually reserved a little of the pasta cooking water in case it was too dry and wound up adding about half a cup due to a mishap with the bread crumbs. I also added some red pepper flakes. It was fantastic and budget friendly to boot. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Much too dry for me, and I discovered I didn't much like the taste of anchovies. Even when I shook off as much of the bread crumbs as possible and added an alfredo sauce, it was still only edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I felt this was pretty dry. Next time I think I'll leave out the bread crumbs and use a little more oil or less pasta. Do you add the anchovy oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm sorry but this was one of the worst pasta dishes I have ever made from this site. The amount of bread crumbs called for in the recipie far outweighed any of the other flavors. I couldn't even taste the anchovies which should tell you something. I will not make this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Ok - the breadcrumbs just don't cut it. For 2 people, I used less linguini but kept the rest of the portions the same. The flavor was fantastic (I LOVE anchovies). Next time I'll eliminate the breadcrumbs altogether and see what happens. The combo of parsley and cilantro was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Awesome!! What a wonderful change from the usual. enjoy long distance cycling and often ride 40-50 miles a day. Coming home and making this meal is simply the best. It is just right combination of carbs and flavor. Wonderful..I also made the roasted garlic broccoli to go with it. Fabulous combination..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have made this for Christmas Eve dinner for 43 years. This was part of the seven fishes dinner my father made on Christmas Eve for years before I took up the tradition. The only differences...no bread crumbs, more EVOO and we use Locatelli Romano. Friends who do not like anchovies eat seconds and thirds of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Were the anchovies drained before being chopped and the oil discarded? I found saving a 1/2 cup of the pasta water then using it to add to the sauce made the pasta less dry and did not dilute the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States