Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I tried this despite having our own version from my sicilian nonna. We use 1/2 c butter, 1/4 c evoo, no anchovies, no breadcrumbs and 2 heads of garlic peeled and sliced. saute the garlic, add 1 container of sliced mushrooms, after that cooks down, add to the pasta along with a pinch of red pepper flakes, s & p to taste and one ladel full of pasta water. Mix again then add 1 c. parmesan and mix one last time. This is peasant food and very delicious. Make sure you eat it all because it does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This recipe was really good. I liked how easily and quickly this came together. I was a little concerned with how the anchovies would taste, but they were not overpowering at all. My husband thought it was a little dry, but I didn't mind that. He is just used to pasta in sauce rather than bread crumbs and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We loved this. I used Italian bread crumbs and our dinky town had no anchovies so I used about 1 inch of anchovy paste to serve 4 people. I did use about half the amount of bread crumbs the recipe called for and more olive oil based on previous reviewer suggestions. I cooked sliced chicken Italian sauages,red peppers and sugar snap peas on the side and mixed in with the pasta and topped with cheese. Even my picky eaters liked this. I serve some variation of chicken/veggie/pasta dish about once a week bc its one main dish and a way to get veggies in my kids so finding another way to have pasta was a real treat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
LOVED THIS! It was super easy and quick. I didn't add the anchovy's because I wanted my 2yr old son to eat it. And I forgot to add the bread crumbs. I added just a little butter to it, and it was so good. Loved it and defiantly going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Yum! Now one of our favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
If you're used to saucy pasta, this may not be the recipe for you. Although the dish was tasty, I am not used to the 'dry' type pasta. I grilled mild italian sausages along with this dish. I enjoyed it because it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grlcooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe...i thought the breadcrumbs would add a nice texture to the pasta, but it dried the entire dish out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and it's always been a hit...even to those who don't normally like anchovies. I usually add lemon and red pepper flakes for more zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sapphira
Home Town: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States