Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I've made variations of this tasty dish before. The anchovies melt right into the garlic oil so there are no fish pieces left in the pasta. I suggest using WAY more garlic in the sauce and adding cilantro rather than parsley in the end. Also, I marinate and then saute some shrimp in lime, garlic, red pepper, and olive oil to add to the dish. Just a suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
We weren't crazy about this. I didn't end up with a sauce - even when I added more olive oil, it was just a sticky fishy blob that was hard to combine with the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
AWESOME! Wow, this was great. My only suggestion is to cut the bread crumbs by 1/2---then again maybe I did not make enought noodles. LOVE IT! Thanks Simon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was very good. If you are looking for pasta with a wet sauce, this isn't the recipe for you. With this recipe you get bread crumbs that absorb the anchovies and garlic flavors which in turn coat the spaghetti. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kikadee
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I've made this about a dozen times in the last few months, so it's about time I posted a review! Markypost was right: You won't be wiping up oodles of sauce with your garlic bread when you make this dish--it's just not THAT kind of pasta. I agree with other reviewers that you'll need to add some more olive oil than the recipe calls for, or else it will tend to be "dry." I throw in a few red chili pepper flakes with the anchovy and garlic saute, for a bit of zing. Not everyone will agree with me, but I prefer to use panko (Japanese) bread crumbs, because they're a bit coarser, and then I like to fry them in the hot oil for a minute before turning off the heat and adding the parsley. I enjoy the slight crunchy texture this adds to the final product. Parmesan might make this dish too salty for some folks, but I can't imagine pasta without it, and that's why a huge handful of fresh parsley is so important--it cuts right through the salt and sort of lightens up the overall flavour. This tastes strong, but not fishy, makes an excellent side dish, cheap and easy to prepare, be brave and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I love this!!! (It could use a sauce though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this spaghetti for dinner last night and we were pretty disappointed with it I'm afraid. I kept all the ingredients the same expect I used half the amount of spaghetti and bread crumbs. The end result didn't really taste like anything....well except for spaghetti with breadcrumbs and a little bit of garlic. I might be able to work with this recipe over time, but I doubt I'll try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Rather than re-type basically all of “kelcampbell’s” remarks, we’ll simply say please read review below ours. We 2nd all which was expressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Excelent!! my family loved this recipe!! I was surprised that my 3 kids were asking for seconds! I added extra olive oil, I didn't have spagetti on hand so I used Penne. Will do it again, so simple and fast. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorena Medina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made this recipe last night. The flavors were fantastic - but it was EXTREMELY dry. Once you add the bread crumbs there is no sauce left. It is basically flavored bread crumbs that you add to the cooked pasta. I recommend adding more olive oil and/or water from the boiled pasta into the breadcrumbs. Like someone else, I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States