Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
We didn't change a thing when we made this. Don't think of it as a sauce. It's more like super-breadcrumbs that get mixed in with dry pasta. It is a different flavor, but fabulous. Also really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I wasn't sure the kids would like this type of pasta but they loved it! I made it exactly the way the recipe stated. In the end I would recommend adding about 1/4 cup more oil to the pan. And right before tossing everything together about 1/4 stick of butter to the noodles to help stick the sauce to the noodles. Remember don't rinse the pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlpinter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! I made this with the other reviews in mind, it is a dry pasta. I didn't mind that at all. Not at all fishy, can barely tell there is anchovy in it, in fact I will probably add even more anchovy next time. (You do not have to even like anchovy to enjoy this taste!) Six year old daughter loved it! I followed recipe exactly except that I used panko bread crumbs (the japanese breadcrumbs) and it tasted super. I told my husband to taste it, he kept asking me what was in it, I told him to taste it first. He said it was so good. I told him about the anchovy, he didn't believe me! Wonderful blend of flavors. I will add a squeeze of lemon next time as reccomended by the reviewer before me. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is just a tip: I've seen a version of this recipe in one of the River Cafe cookbooks, and they add the juice & zest of 2 small lemons (I use only 1), and also add crushed red chile peppers into the oil at first. This makes it more "saucy" and is a great counterbalance to the oil and anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Variation: Remove olive oil and cover with browned butter and crumbled feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My mom is Italian and makes this same recipe every Christmas Eve. I agree totally with GuineaPigGirl: Italians do not use a tomato-based sauce with every pasta dish. This dish should be pleasantly oily with a light, anchovie flavor mixed with the buttery, garlicky breadcrumbs. The only difference in how my mom makes it and this recipe is that she uses linguine instead of spaghetti. Small point, I know, but the ingredients seem to cling better to the linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My family really loved this recipe. A definite keeper. I can see this being a good base to then add sundried tomatoes, olives and any kind of meat or chicken. DH doesn't even know yet there are anchovies in this dish! I wasn't going to tell him! Why spoil a good thing? So tasty and good for you! We made it with penne pasta. That's Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very nice, tastes just like home (I'm Italian) What alot people don't realize is that the pasta is SUPPOSED to be DRY! Italians don't always like thick soupy sauces all the timeThats the style of pasta it is. I usually add a squeeze of lemon for some zing and not so much parsely. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I thought this was very tasty and made for a quick and easy side dish! I used my mini-processor to chop the garlic and anchovies (in oil with capers). I only did a 1/2 cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs and I used 2 Tbl. freeze dried basil instead of parsely. Super quick, easy and delicious! I used this as a side to my Tilapia Parmesan from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made this recipe last night. The flavors were fantastic - but it was EXTREMELY dry. Once you add the bread crumbs there is no sauce left. It is basically flavored bread crumbs that you add to the cooked pasta. I recommend adding more olive oil and/or water from the boiled pasta into the breadcrumbs. Like someone else, I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States