Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I tried this despite having our own version from my sicilian nonna. We use 1/2 c butter, 1/4 c evoo, no anchovies, no breadcrumbs and 2 heads of garlic peeled and sliced. saute the garlic, add 1 container of sliced mushrooms, after that cooks down, add to the pasta along with a pinch of red pepper flakes, s & p to taste and one ladel full of pasta water. Mix again then add 1 c. parmesan and mix one last time. This is peasant food and very delicious. Make sure you eat it all because it does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lombardo Durham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This recipe was really good. I liked how easily and quickly this came together. I was a little concerned with how the anchovies would taste, but they were not overpowering at all. My husband thought it was a little dry, but I didn't mind that. He is just used to pasta in sauce rather than bread crumbs and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We loved this. I used Italian bread crumbs and our dinky town had no anchovies so I used about 1 inch of anchovy paste to serve 4 people. I did use about half the amount of bread crumbs the recipe called for and more olive oil based on previous reviewer suggestions. I cooked sliced chicken Italian sauages,red peppers and sugar snap peas on the side and mixed in with the pasta and topped with cheese. Even my picky eaters liked this. I serve some variation of chicken/veggie/pasta dish about once a week bc its one main dish and a way to get veggies in my kids so finding another way to have pasta was a real treat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
LOVED THIS! It was super easy and quick. I didn't add the anchovy's because I wanted my 2yr old son to eat it. And I forgot to add the bread crumbs. I added just a little butter to it, and it was so good. Loved it and defiantly going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Yum! Now one of our favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
If you're used to saucy pasta, this may not be the recipe for you. Although the dish was tasty, I am not used to the 'dry' type pasta. I grilled mild italian sausages along with this dish. I enjoyed it because it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grlcooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe...i thought the breadcrumbs would add a nice texture to the pasta, but it dried the entire dish out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and it's always been a hit...even to those who don't normally like anchovies. I usually add lemon and red pepper flakes for more zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sapphira
Home Town: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States