Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is just a tip: I've seen a version of this recipe in one of the River Cafe cookbooks, and they add the juice & zest of 2 small lemons (I use only 1), and also add crushed red chile peppers into the oil at first. This makes it more "saucy" and is a great counterbalance to the oil and anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Variation: Remove olive oil and cover with browned butter and crumbled feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My mom is Italian and makes this same recipe every Christmas Eve. I agree totally with GuineaPigGirl: Italians do not use a tomato-based sauce with every pasta dish. This dish should be pleasantly oily with a light, anchovie flavor mixed with the buttery, garlicky breadcrumbs. The only difference in how my mom makes it and this recipe is that she uses linguine instead of spaghetti. Small point, I know, but the ingredients seem to cling better to the linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My family really loved this recipe. A definite keeper. I can see this being a good base to then add sundried tomatoes, olives and any kind of meat or chicken. DH doesn't even know yet there are anchovies in this dish! I wasn't going to tell him! Why spoil a good thing? So tasty and good for you! We made it with penne pasta. That's Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very nice, tastes just like home (I'm Italian) What alot people don't realize is that the pasta is SUPPOSED to be DRY! Italians don't always like thick soupy sauces all the timeThats the style of pasta it is. I usually add a squeeze of lemon for some zing and not so much parsely. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I thought this was very tasty and made for a quick and easy side dish! I used my mini-processor to chop the garlic and anchovies (in oil with capers). I only did a 1/2 cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs and I used 2 Tbl. freeze dried basil instead of parsely. Super quick, easy and delicious! I used this as a side to my Tilapia Parmesan from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made this recipe last night. The flavors were fantastic - but it was EXTREMELY dry. Once you add the bread crumbs there is no sauce left. It is basically flavored bread crumbs that you add to the cooked pasta. I recommend adding more olive oil and/or water from the boiled pasta into the breadcrumbs. Like someone else, I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Excelent!! my family loved this recipe!! I was surprised that my 3 kids were asking for seconds! I added extra olive oil, I didn't have spagetti on hand so I used Penne. Will do it again, so simple and fast. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorena Medina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Rather than re-type basically all of “kelcampbell’s” remarks, we’ll simply say please read review below ours. We 2nd all which was expressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this spaghetti for dinner last night and we were pretty disappointed with it I'm afraid. I kept all the ingredients the same expect I used half the amount of spaghetti and bread crumbs. The end result didn't really taste like anything....well except for spaghetti with breadcrumbs and a little bit of garlic. I might be able to work with this recipe over time, but I doubt I'll try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States