Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I can't believe I never reviewed this--it's one of my go-to quick dinners. It's a delicious, savory, simple dish. I brown the breadcrumbs in olive oil and set them aside; then I warm the anchovies and garlic and some red pepper flakes in olive oil. I save about a half cup of the pasta-cooking water and add that to the anchovy mixture, toss that with the pasta, then mix in the breadcrumbs and top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My mother also makes this every year for our Christmas Eve dinner...an Italian tradition I suppose. It is fantastic and only in my adult years have I started making it year round to enjoy! I use a lot more olive oil (about twice as much per pound of pasta) no parsely and no bread. Just anchovies, garlic, olive oil, and lots of black pepper. My family calls it, no idea on how to spell it...sounds like: Ol-yew-eel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is very quick to make, and exceedingly tasty. The first time I made this, it was way too salty. I suggest you rinse the anchovies. (Maybe everybody knows to do this but me?) The second time, besides rinsing the anchovies, I used fettucine, added the suggested lemon juice, a splash of white wine and used Asiago cheese - my favorite. The dressing for the noodles is dry, but it is supposed to be. I liked my changes and will keep them and I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this recipe with a little extra olive oil and a splash of lemon juice, and it was delicious! My husband and I both had seconds. I definitely think the lemon juice makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i love pasta and i love anchovies, and adding garlic to the mix makes this a very tasty,enjoyable,and did i mention quick, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious. I love the salty anchovies, so I would use less noodles (or double the "sauce") so that the spaghetti had more of a coating. I used panko and liked the crunch it added to the texture. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very easy, excellent for emergency when something needed ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Tried this for dinner tonight, and I was really disappointed with it... I hate to give bad reviews when people are sharing their special recipes, but yuck. Very difficult to get the bread crumb mixture to cover the pasta, and when I added a touch more liquid it turned to even more of a gluey mass... My husband actually refused to finish this, a first... and asked that I not make it again. I might try to fix the leftovers with some drained diced tomatoes to add some flavor, as this was bland and salty. Really bummed me out, cause I love anchovies and pasta, and was looking for something that wasn't a thick heavy tomato sauce. I'll have to keep looking, as this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
maybe I dont like anchovies after all? This was not good to me. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
My family of picky eaters loved this!! I served it as a meal...not just an appetizer as some did. My picky children and bf loved it! Didn't even tell them about the anchovies until dinner was over!! Added extra oil right after tossing with linguine-delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States