Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Tasted great, with a few changes. I wasn't sure if I was going to like the anchovie flavor, so instead of using the whole can, I only used 3 and I used a lot less breadcrumbs (approx 1/4 cup). I don't like dry spaghetti, so I tripled the amont of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is great. I love anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I REALLY enjoyed this, but my hubby, while he said it was tasty, thought it was way too dry (I know it's supposed to be). I used seasoned breadcrumbs and used more olive oil than called for. Also, I added some pepper flakes in with the oil, anchovy, garlic mixture. This pasta had really great flavor. I would make this again (when hubby wasn't around, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Delicious. I used less bread crumbs because I cooked up less pasta. I cooked a bunch mushrooms in with the garlic and anchovies, next time i'll add in even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Who would have known that anchovy fillets would be so good!! My family was very skeptic at first, but Sicilian Spaghetti is/was a hit!! LOVE IT.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Was good. Don't know if I would make it again. My husband wasn't crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fantastic! I also used panko bread crumbs. I added some shrimp to cook in the oil and tossed in some leftover asparagus. It was a complete meal and so tasty. Anchovy was not overpowering so you can easily increase or double if you want a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
i have been eating this for years and love it my grandfather was a sicilian fisherman out of san francisco and i first ate this dish on his boat when i was about 6 sometimes to change it up abit he would throw a can of peas in the finished dish also he would add a little of the cooking water from the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I wanted a quick and easy meal for just myself the other night and this was perfect. It reminded me of a recipe I have for crostini. I cut the recipe in half with the thought of leftovers, but then my brother came in and finished it off. We both loved it, the only change I made was I added just a squeeze of lemon juice and 1 or 2 tablespoons of butter. Will surely be making this again. UPDATE: I have made this many times now with the following modifications. I double the amount of olive oil. I don't add the breadcrumbs to the sauce. I pour the sauce over the pasta, then add the breadcrumbs and cheese (I don't measure) and toss together. Much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This wasn't a big hit. I get that it is supposed to be dry, but it was really too dry and bread crumby for our taste. It did make a decent side dish for frozen breaded parmesan herb fish patties the next night, after the addition of more olive oil and garlic to perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States