Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did make some changes, but only because of personal taste. I didn't add the cinnamon and I used lemon zest instead of the orange. I skipped the vanilla and used limoncello instead. All in all a good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Light, not too sweet but flavorful. I made it pretty much as written - the only thing I changed was that I strained whole milk ricotta through cheesecloth to get some liquid out of it, and omitted the vanilla and added a couple tablespoons of Cointreau. I think I would add another tablespoon - the flavor is there but it could be a little less subtle. It's delicious though - definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used this recipe to bake my very first ricotta cheesecake and it was excellent - and soooo easy!!! Ive grown up on the finest ricotta cheesecakes from award winning italian bakeries and homemade versions from old world italian grandmoms so I knew what I would be comparing this recipe to. I dusted the top of mine with cinnamon after it was chilled which was the finishing touch. I read comments below about draining the ricotta beforehand and a variation to include amaretto which I may try next time just to see how it turns out but this recipe is delicious and needs no tweeking...its as good as it gets on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Not too sweet, lovely texture. Nice and dense. I used 1 1/2 tsp orange zest and 1 1/2 tsp of lemon zest. I did try 3 tsp of amaretto, but think I will less or none next time; the citrus flavor would definitely be enough. Yes, please drain the ricotta (then one can use 6 eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this recipe on more then 1 occasion. Easy to make and taste is great. My boyfriend and his family are hardcore Italian and they enjoyed every bit of the cake. I didn't modify in anyway except for the crust and added cherry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is the easiest and most delicious cake ever! We loved the lightness of it and I made a strawberry glaze to go over it. A keeper for sure. I followed other reviewers' recommendations and used 5 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
It was OK, this was very grainy. Will try a recipe that includes some cream cheese next time, and use a food processor for a smoother taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoadFish
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made it with 5 eggs, 1 cup of sugar and added 3 tablespoons of Amaretto. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I served it with an orange curd. It was delicious and will become a regular on our dessert menu. A truly easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I actually did the five eggs and drained ricotta in cheesecloth for a few hours don't scrimp buy good ricotta I used a whole milk organic made in VT I also soaked two tsp each Lemon and orange zest in 3tsp of amaretto I also made a ginger snap bottom (1.5 c cookie crumbs 2tbs brown sugar 5 tbs melted butter (I like Kate's homemade butter unsalted) I did a glaze as well with orange preserves and garnished with honey glazed almond slices I browned with a little butter and Hobert and sea salt till they were golden brown let cool on paper towel it came out beautiful and tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This recipe is super easy even for a non baker such as me. Use 5 eggs instead of 6 and full fat ricotta. Other than that, it was perfect and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States