Sicilian Pineapple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
1st let me say, I am 45 and make a roast every week. I wanted something other than the normal pot roast, brown gravy and such. So I looked and found this recipe. I made it per the recipe without changing a thing. All I can say is this is the most moist, tasty roast we have ever had. Husband was a bit worried when I told him pineapple and tomato, but after we started eating it for dinner he changed his mind. Over and over he told me to make sure I dont' loose this recipe. It was delicious! I must tell you also, that 1/2 way through the cooking process we had an emergency and had to leave for 3.5 hours. I was then worried, but it was so tender and juicy it didn't hurt it at all. I browned the roast and baked it in my cast iron(Le Cruset) pan and it worked beautifully. Make this one without reservation! A+A+A+ Because I can't give the recipe more than 5 stars I give it several A+'s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Wow! Who'd of thunk it? Pineapple? I tried this recipe because anything with the word sicilian in it gets my attention. I was not disappointed. This was fabulous! I cheated and used a can of crushed pineapple,(cause if my family saw the pineapple, they wouldn't even try it) and a can of crushed tomatoes and served it with a side of egg noodles. Wonderfully delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made it per the instructions, with the exception of using a boneless pork tenderloin instead, since they were 50% on sale! I cooked it for a party of 11 and it was a great hit! Everybody loved it. A+ recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I have never been able to make a really tender pork roast until now. This recipe made my pork roast so tender and tasty, I ate until I was ready to burst! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
As an American living in Sicily, I HAD to try this recipe. After reading many of the reviews here's how I cooked this recipe. I browned the roast according the recipe and then placed it into a crock pot. I also took the sliced onion and sauteed them in the pan I browned the roast. As they softened, they soaked up the juices and brown bits in the pan. I then scraped it all into the crock pot. Adding the tomatoes and pineapple I didn't think there was enough liquid. I then added 1 cup of a dry white wine. Put the crock pot on low and left it for 8 hours. I came back and the pork was just falling apart tender. Instead of thickening the juices, I took my immersion blender to the crock pot and whizzed up the tomatoes, pineapple and onion in the juices. It made a nice thick tasty sauce. The roast was quite moist. I served it with rice. The sauce was great over the pork and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Really delicious! I did alter slightly by using a pork tenderloin. After browning, I mixed all of the other ingredients together (including garlic instead of placing in roast) and poured over the top prior to putting it in the over. I cooked it a bit longer to make sure it was tender and boy was it ever. I served it w/rice pilaf & green beans and received rave reviews from my husband and kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jakeberry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I've made this twice now. The first time I used a pork shoulder roast and followed the recipe pretty faithfully. This time I used a pork loin and crushed pineapple. I also opted to cook it in my slow cooker and used my temperature probe to determine when it was done. This makes a very moist and tender dish. The tomato/pineapple sauce makes great gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jakeberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Delicious! I used a 7lb bone in butt-roast (couldn't find a shoulder) and cooked it for close to 5 hours because of the size, and just doubled everything. I loved the combination of pineapples and tomatoes, and the meat was so tender, it slid off the bone when I pulled it out of the oven. We've been eating leftovers for a week now, and everyone's still raving about how delicious this is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I am a tough critic and rarely give 5 stars, but this was worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Actually makes pork edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States