Sicilian Pineapple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this was fantastic! i called everyone i knew to tell tem about this! someone is going to get a surprise with this. it is so easy and fast(as far as roasts go)i am going to make it for parties and other get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Decent. We had a 5.5lb roast and I believe undercooked it part of it, despite the meat thermometer saying otherwise and cooking it for >2.5 hours. The flavor works. If you have time, take the suggestions of others and add corn starch to the sauce to thicken it & make gravy. We omitted the sage. I would also be sure to use the grill grate on your roasting pan, as a lot of grease is rendered from cooking. The pineapples are tasty. I would add potatoes on the bottom to suck up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I was leary but this was really good! I did lighten up slightly on the rosemary and used fresh sage (because that is what I had). I also used 5 plum tomatoes skinned and seeded because I didn't have the canned. I forgot to add the onion until 1 hour into the cooking but it still all melted into the sauce. For no added liquid, this surely made a lot of juice. I also made mine in a cast iron dutch oven and thickened the sauce with a mixture of corn starch and white wine (2T each). I will most definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The roast was very moist and smelled wonderful while cooking. My husband & I both agreed that the taste of Rosemary overpowered the other flavors. I followed the recipe exactly and if we decide to make this again, we will definitely alter the spice measurements and add some other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Really delicious! I did alter slightly by using a pork tenderloin. After browning, I mixed all of the other ingredients together (including garlic instead of placing in roast) and poured over the top prior to putting it in the over. I cooked it a bit longer to make sure it was tender and boy was it ever. I served it w/rice pilaf & green beans and received rave reviews from my husband and kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was very disappointing. It tasted like a meal out of a can. I definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by Jakeberry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I've made this twice now. The first time I used a pork shoulder roast and followed the recipe pretty faithfully. This time I used a pork loin and crushed pineapple. I also opted to cook it in my slow cooker and used my temperature probe to determine when it was done. This makes a very moist and tender dish. The tomato/pineapple sauce makes great gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jakeberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I am a tough critic and rarely give 5 stars, but this was worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Delicious! I used a 7lb bone in butt-roast (couldn't find a shoulder) and cooked it for close to 5 hours because of the size, and just doubled everything. I loved the combination of pineapples and tomatoes, and the meat was so tender, it slid off the bone when I pulled it out of the oven. We've been eating leftovers for a week now, and everyone's still raving about how delicious this is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made it per the instructions, with the exception of using a boneless pork tenderloin instead, since they were 50% on sale! I cooked it for a party of 11 and it was a great hit! Everybody loved it. A+ recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States