Sicilian Pineapple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this was fantastic! i called everyone i knew to tell tem about this! someone is going to get a surprise with this. it is so easy and fast(as far as roasts go)i am going to make it for parties and other get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Decent. We had a 5.5lb roast and I believe undercooked it part of it, despite the meat thermometer saying otherwise and cooking it for >2.5 hours. The flavor works. If you have time, take the suggestions of others and add corn starch to the sauce to thicken it & make gravy. We omitted the sage. I would also be sure to use the grill grate on your roasting pan, as a lot of grease is rendered from cooking. The pineapples are tasty. I would add potatoes on the bottom to suck up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I was leary but this was really good! I did lighten up slightly on the rosemary and used fresh sage (because that is what I had). I also used 5 plum tomatoes skinned and seeded because I didn't have the canned. I forgot to add the onion until 1 hour into the cooking but it still all melted into the sauce. For no added liquid, this surely made a lot of juice. I also made mine in a cast iron dutch oven and thickened the sauce with a mixture of corn starch and white wine (2T each). I will most definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The roast was very moist and smelled wonderful while cooking. My husband & I both agreed that the taste of Rosemary overpowered the other flavors. I followed the recipe exactly and if we decide to make this again, we will definitely alter the spice measurements and add some other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Really delicious! I did alter slightly by using a pork tenderloin. After browning, I mixed all of the other ingredients together (including garlic instead of placing in roast) and poured over the top prior to putting it in the over. I cooked it a bit longer to make sure it was tender and boy was it ever. I served it w/rice pilaf & green beans and received rave reviews from my husband and kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was very disappointing. It tasted like a meal out of a can. I definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by Jakeberry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I've made this twice now. The first time I used a pork shoulder roast and followed the recipe pretty faithfully. This time I used a pork loin and crushed pineapple. I also opted to cook it in my slow cooker and used my temperature probe to determine when it was done. This makes a very moist and tender dish. The tomato/pineapple sauce makes great gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jakeberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I am a tough critic and rarely give 5 stars, but this was worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Delicious! I used a 7lb bone in butt-roast (couldn't find a shoulder) and cooked it for close to 5 hours because of the size, and just doubled everything. I loved the combination of pineapples and tomatoes, and the meat was so tender, it slid off the bone when I pulled it out of the oven. We've been eating leftovers for a week now, and everyone's still raving about how delicious this is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made it per the instructions, with the exception of using a boneless pork tenderloin instead, since they were 50% on sale! I cooked it for a party of 11 and it was a great hit! Everybody loved it. A+ recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States