Sicilian Pineapple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I'm on my third batch, and just love it and so does my family. I add carrots to the pot and trim down the pineapple a bit as the carrots are sweet. I also add lots of cracked pepper, and serve it with quartered boiled potatoes to soak up the juices. Be sure to brown the roast first if you want a super tender pork roast! I've also done this in the crock pot, starting out on high for an hour, then reducing to low for 5-6 until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
No one in my family liked it but I thought it was ok, wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I love this! It makes a great gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Super delicious and super easy! Even my two year old couldn't get enough of this 'chicken.' Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Very nice. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
As an American living in Sicily, I HAD to try this recipe. After reading many of the reviews here's how I cooked this recipe. I browned the roast according the recipe and then placed it into a crock pot. I also took the sliced onion and sauteed them in the pan I browned the roast. As they softened, they soaked up the juices and brown bits in the pan. I then scraped it all into the crock pot. Adding the tomatoes and pineapple I didn't think there was enough liquid. I then added 1 cup of a dry white wine. Put the crock pot on low and left it for 8 hours. I came back and the pork was just falling apart tender. Instead of thickening the juices, I took my immersion blender to the crock pot and whizzed up the tomatoes, pineapple and onion in the juices. It made a nice thick tasty sauce. The roast was quite moist. I served it with rice. The sauce was great over the pork and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Not a hit here. Was just ok, probably won't make agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Bergen Hudson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I was really excited about making this but, alas, was very disappointed. It was OK but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States