Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
The meat part wasn't anything exciting and I've definitely liked some other meatloaf recipes better. But this was interesting and different, and it "presents" well. Unfortunately the added cheese just makes it that much more fattening. The rolling is easy, as long as you take advantage of that waxed paper, keeping it intact with the roll until it absolutely must be pulled off bit-by-bit as it gets in the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This meatloaf was tasty and very rich. I added a bit of parmesan romano blend to my meatloaf mix to make it taste like I would make my meatballs. I enjoyed the cheese (I used provolone), however the deli ham tasted a bit out of place in my opinion. I may not add meat next time, or if I do I might consider capicola or some Italian deli meat. The rolling method went easier than I expected and I served this with penne tossed with homemade sauce, I also put a little sauce on the meatloaf before I topped with the cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Great! I added some spinach along with the ham and mozzarella and it was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I was looking for a new spin on meatloaf.. and boy did I find it. The best "meatloaf" I have ever had. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonrenee
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
We have to have this at least once a week now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonrenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I was a bit scared about the rolling part as I was only making it with 16oz of ground beef. I should have had more faith in myself - I rolled it on/with parchment paper, and it turned out fine! The flavor was very good but it was rather dry - just as well I served it with 'Chunky Marinara Sauce.' Thank you, Kimber and Betsy for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is just wonderful! Thanks for the lovely idea. It is so easy and looks incredible. I used proscutto, because I had a bunch of it in the house, and provolone. I also took a page from another reviewer and made some marinara which I poured over it. I have made it twice now. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very good. Everyone had a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this for my family and everyone LOVED it. I'm not really a cook, so if I can do this, and do it well, then anyone can. Next time I think I'll serve it with a side of marinara sauce and maybe add a bit more seasoning to the meat. I will make it again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Something new and tasty in the meat loaf department. The house smells so good while this is cooking! A great NEW way to prepare and actually enjoy meatloaf. Thumbs up! I'll be making this one again tho with maybe a variation or two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Kapowsin, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States