Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
By looking at the current picture, you'd probably wonder why this has so many positive reviews. Well I've made this three times now and it's never looked like the big ole hunk of pooey that's pictured. I do have some recommendations: use a loaf pan, double the gaahlic, and I sometimes spice it up with ground pepperoni in the beef or add mushrooms to the cheese. It's also VERY important to use lean beef or you end up draining all the cheese along with the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This is definitely a 5-star recipe. We have been making this for years and love it! It's a tried and true, never-fail, company pleasing, favorite. You can even prepare it (not bake) in the morning or night before and store it the fridge until it's time to cook it. You do need to cook a little longer since you are starting with very cold ingredients. Update: I just made this again last night. The original recipe that I have has 2 cloves of garlic and 3/4 tsp of oregano. It also uses shredded mozzerella in the middle and slices on the top. Wonderful recipe! I'm glad it's on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Great! I added some spinach along with the ham and mozzarella and it was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I got this recipe from a friend in college manay moon ago and had lost it. I am so happy to see this recipe as it is my favorite way to make meatloaf. I highly reccomend this and the only thing I would suggest is to use a meat thermometer to check for doneness. The tomato juice and ham give it a pinkness that makes it hard to tell when it's done. This recipe will be appearing on my menu this week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe. I followed it pretty closely, but changed it as follows: Used 3 oz Prosciutto instead of ham. Used provolone instead of mozz. Added 1 sliced green onion, sprinkled on the meat before the ham. Used 1.5lb 97% ground beef and .5 lb mild Italian sausage. Only had to bake mine for 60 minutes, also. Next time I'll probably skip the salt, but overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Ros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
There is one thing that makes this recipe better, and that's creativity. Every time I make this, I fiddle around and it's always great. Try using prosciutto ham, salami or prosciutto salami for the inside meat. I've added Italian sausage filling to the ground beef with great results. I also like to add sun dried tomatoes or mushrooms inside as well. On fancier occasions I've been known to serve it on top of a bed of spaghetti with burnt butter and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Made this a few times and its a hit every time. A great twist on boring meatloaf!! I omit the tomato juice, though. And it doesn't seem to miss it! Don't like the taste of tomato juice in the meatloaf and tomato juice actually reacts badly with aluminum foil if you're using it. A great variation is to use smoked ham! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This meatloaf was tasty and very rich. I added a bit of parmesan romano blend to my meatloaf mix to make it taste like I would make my meatballs. I enjoyed the cheese (I used provolone), however the deli ham tasted a bit out of place in my opinion. I may not add meat next time, or if I do I might consider capicola or some Italian deli meat. The rolling method went easier than I expected and I served this with penne tossed with homemade sauce, I also put a little sauce on the meatloaf before I topped with the cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very similar to what I've had in Sicily. I've since changed it from meat roll to meat rolls however. Rather than ending up with one large loaf, I've made rolls of 5x3 - 5x5 inches. Using one piece of ham and cheese, rolled, then breaded, then fried in a skillet. This is more of what I've been accustomed to having in Sicily. Nonetheless, the taste in either format is divine and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessejamesrichard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This receipe is great. My whole family simply loved the meatloaf. What was fantastic was it was so simply to make and yet an elegant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States