Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is one of the best dishes I've ever tried, and way easier to make then it sounds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My mom used to make it and i have been making it for years. i have never made any additions to this recipe (like i try to with most) - it turns out awesome every time. definately worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hancoccn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used V8 instead of tomato juice and I didn't have any ham but I think this might be the tastiest meatloaf I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollycurls77
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This looked like it might be a challenge to put together, but it turned out to be so quick and easy! I used Canadian bacon instead of ham, upped the garlic and added onion powder to the meat mixture as well. This was a real hit. Next time I may even add some sauteed spinach, mushrooms and roasted red peppers to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I omitted the tomato juice and instead served it drizzled with a marinara sauce and liked it much better that way. It was a HUGE family hit, kids and adults alike and will find its way to our table many times in the future, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My B-I-L made this last night and it was amazing. So much so I had to go online and look for the recipe this morning. His creative additions were prosciutto and sd toms, very good. I was thinking that one could sneak some shredded veggies into the meat mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefwannabeSarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My first meat roll and it was really good! I changed a few things, I added 1 tablespoon of italian seasoning, and instead of ham I used mushrooms and slightly cooked spinach. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
By looking at the current picture, you'd probably wonder why this has so many positive reviews. Well I've made this three times now and it's never looked like the big ole hunk of pooey that's pictured. I do have some recommendations: use a loaf pan, double the gaahlic, and I sometimes spice it up with ground pepperoni in the beef or add mushrooms to the cheese. It's also VERY important to use lean beef or you end up draining all the cheese along with the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Since I was a kid, this is the ONLY meatloaf that I will eat. It's actually pretty easy to make as well. My husband loves it too and won't eat any other meatloaf now either (since I don't make any other meatloaf....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
There is one thing that makes this recipe better, and that's creativity. Every time I make this, I fiddle around and it's always great. Try using prosciutto ham, salami or prosciutto salami for the inside meat. I've added Italian sausage filling to the ground beef with great results. I also like to add sun dried tomatoes or mushrooms inside as well. On fancier occasions I've been known to serve it on top of a bed of spaghetti with burnt butter and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States