Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe. I followed it pretty closely, but changed it as follows: Used 3 oz Prosciutto instead of ham. Used provolone instead of mozz. Added 1 sliced green onion, sprinkled on the meat before the ham. Used 1.5lb 97% ground beef and .5 lb mild Italian sausage. Only had to bake mine for 60 minutes, also. Next time I'll probably skip the salt, but overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Ros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Made this a few times and its a hit every time. A great twist on boring meatloaf!! I omit the tomato juice, though. And it doesn't seem to miss it! Don't like the taste of tomato juice in the meatloaf and tomato juice actually reacts badly with aluminum foil if you're using it. A great variation is to use smoked ham! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very similar to what I've had in Sicily. I've since changed it from meat roll to meat rolls however. Rather than ending up with one large loaf, I've made rolls of 5x3 - 5x5 inches. Using one piece of ham and cheese, rolled, then breaded, then fried in a skillet. This is more of what I've been accustomed to having in Sicily. Nonetheless, the taste in either format is divine and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessejamesrichard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
wonderful burst of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornwall Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Pretty good. I like the choice of spices, works very well. I don't see the cheese and the ham as necessary, though. there are much better recipes out there for stuffed meatloaf than this one. But omitting the cheese and ham, I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
after my mom found this recipe, she never made meatloaf again! this recipe is absolutely scrumptious,and is great for any occasion. it is relatively simple,too! it definitely gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shoals, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We've been making this for many, many years and love it! We've even served it for guests at our annual New Year's Eve party. Our grown children request it when then visit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Made a couple of changes - used only about a pound and a quarter lean ground beef so only used 1 egg and substituted tomato sauce for the juice. I also used a shredded italian cheese mixture instead of just mozzarella. I poured the rest of the can of sauce on top when I added the cheese during the last few minutes of cooking (which only took about 50 - 55 minutes because it was a smaller loaf). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
YUM! I used prosciutto ham which made it a bit more salty, but yummy !!! I also used a tomato sauce flavored with onion and garlic instead of tomato juice.. I also put a little bit of the mixture on top, as well. And fresh oregano, instead of dried. Can't wait to make it again! Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
The meat mixture in this recipe was amazing. I added additional garlic, used Italian bread crumbs, tomato sauce thinned with sauce water (no tomato juice), and salami instead of ham since it seemed more Italian and therefore a better choice. It was a good recipe and the salami wasn’t bad, but I found its taste to be a bit overpowering. I’d use salami again, but use less next time. In retrospect, I don’t think ham would be bad after all since it has a nice mild flavor to it. Maybe that was why it was in the recipe in the first place? :) By the way, this was really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States