Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
An excellent reprieve from boring meatloaf - very moist and delicious - was so popular there were no leftovers. Served with whipped potatoes (with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese), garden salad, and stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I tried this for supper. I used a pound of venison, a pound of ground pork, Italian bread crumbs, added onion powder, and didn't add ham. It was the prettiest meatloaf I've ever made. I did use a loaf pan and cooked to 165° because of the pork. I served with pasta in rosa sauce and spinach for sides. My husband gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I've made this many times, and it never fails to please. Everyone has loved it. I've made it with ground sirloin and ground turkey, both turn out great. Pairs well with pasta or garlic mashed potatoes. Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I discovered this recipe years ago in one of the little cookbooks you get from the check out line at the grocery store. I was a Nanny then looking for meals the kids would eat. It was a hit then and now with my own family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
we enjoyed this recipe - a different way to make meatloaf. i subbed ground turkey, and left the ham out on one half of the meatloaf (i don't like ham -ou could just cheese on my side!) i thought the meat had good flavor, although i think you could increase the spices to add to the "italian" flavors. overall very good - kids and the whole family quite enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My mom has been cooking this since I was a kid, nearly 40 years now, since a fellow Air Force wife made it. I was about to type mine into my Recipe Box when I checked and saw this one was perfect! We eat it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I haven't made it yet and already I'm making changes;) Instead of tomato juice, I think I'll use tomato sauce or puree. That might help with the sometimes metallic taste that tomato juice has. Other reviews use different cheeses, meats and even add spinach, which sounds great. I might even try it with ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I love making this! Reminds me of my mothers. I have made some edits over the years but it still taste amazing. I do recommend using two gloves of garlic and a little more oregano or mixed Italian seasoning (especially if you are using extra lean meat). I personally used extra lean ground turkey which nix the grease all together. If using turkey i recommend using italian flavored bread crumbs to add to the flavor a little. I also plan prefer tomato sauce instead of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I suggest everyone make this I left out the tomato juice and topped with marinara sauce baked in a bread/loaf pan. My husband said never make regular meatloaf ever again. My picky 2 yr old ate a whole slice. IT IS GREEEEAAAATTT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffneyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama-mimosa
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Pretty tasty but a lot of the cheese escaped. Next time I need to be sure I roll it tighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States