Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Mmmmm mmmmm good! I omitted the sugar and added a sprinkle of locatelli cheese to the top served with crusty french bread and we were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I first found this recipe three years ago, but I was a bit hesitant to try it as my boyfriend is a bit picky when it comes to vegetables. Well, he went crazy over it! He couldn't stop talking about how amazing it was! We've both decided that it's one of our favourite dishes ever. I'm kicking myself for having gone so long without it. I wish I could give it ten stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Where is the flavor? Tastes like plain old tomato sauce to me. I was in a hurry and didn't have time to experiment, so I dumped it. It sounds really good, but it was really bland and really thick. Maybe it just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
It's a good recipe just to add nutrition (lentils and vegetables) to sauce for pasta, but nothing amazing. Good for what it does though...I used whole wheat pasta. This recipe might need something to 'kick it up a notch' but I'm not sure what it is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Yum! Filling and almost decadent, this sauce is a real treat, but still very healthy! What more can you ask for? My husband and I both loved it's wonderful flavor and texture. A very good way to use bits of veggies you might have left over from the previous week's recipes. The only thing I wonder is how well it freezes, since it makes so much good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I left out the sugar and added some red wine. This was thick, great as both a soup and a sauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was easy and delicious. It will be a regular pasta sauce for us. I think I would add some spices and less sugar than stated. It was great with fettucine pasta and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I left out the sugar and the last bit of water intentionally, and the garlic less intentionally and it was great. My toddler LOVED this so hence the 5 star stamp of approval. She is going through a fussy stage and usually doesn't really want to touch much of her dinner at night. She actually gobbled it all up! I suspect that this recipe could be quite easily converted to a crockpot recipe. If you cook it in a wok with gas it only takes about 30 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This sauce was a little too sweet for me--maybe if I eliminated the sugar it would be good because I love all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Easy to fix. VERY tasty. My husband even ate the leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States