Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I just got done making this sauce, and it is REALLY good. I didn't use the zucchini because I didn't have one, but used extra mushrooms instead. I also used a can of chopped tomatoes in place of the 1/2 cup water and second can of tomatoe sauce...more texture and flavor. OH, and also substituted one cup of the water for one cup of vegetable stock. This really does have a "meaty" flavor with out the meat. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin Licavoli
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe was very tasty!! I added matchstick carrots, used only 1 tsp sugar, and also added a can of italian seasoned diced tomatoes (drained). I am thinking of adding fresh spinach and red and yellow bell peppers next time. was delicious! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
made this tonight...tasted it after making it. It was good, but I added the following and it was GREAT: 1 fresh tomato chopped (I didn't have zucchini) and about 2 tsp lemon juice. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julzenca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, California, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Although healthy, this is lacking flavor. I like the idea of the veggies and lentils but definitely needs additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I did not add the sugar, but I followed the rest of the recipe and served it over linguine. Delicious! Hubby loved it and told me at least twice how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Only 3 stars because there is not a lot of flavor in this dish. I like the veggies and lentils. I did like some of the other reviewers and added a bunch of seasonings like salt, pepper, oregano, basil, fresh thyme. I also used all fresh ingredients but it was just really bland and really tomatoee. I ended up adding about 2oz of Italian sausage to add some flavor. When I chopped the mushrooms and zucchini I left them a pretty good size but the mushrooms kinda disintegrated. So like the other people stated you should add those towards the end. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was good! My family and all enjoyed it as something different than our normal spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Excellent. MUST add Italian Spices, even more basil and lots of salt/pepper. I also used canned tomatoes along with fresh tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, and substituted zucchini with bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Yum! I love lentil anything (so meaty and filling) and have been making lentil pasta sauce for years. We used to prepare it regularly in the collective kitchen we organized. I like the addition of mushrooms and zucchini - great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was fantastic! I'm giving it 5 stars even though I made a couple of changes to suit my tastes. First, I used vegetable stock instead of water, and at first I thought that was a mistake because it started to smell "vegetable soupish", but in the end it worked. I think water would have worked fine too. I used crushed tomatoes in puree instead of sauce, and like others added the zucchini with the tomatoes as I didn't want it overcooked. I omitted the sugar and added a grated carrot with the tomatoes - it does the same thing that sugar is meant to do, cut the acidity of the tomatoes, but you also get a bit more nutrition. And I seasoned with oregano, basil, salt & pepper. Start to finish, my sauce was done in just under an hour - lentils were tender at about 35 minutes and the sauce simmered for maybe another 20 or so. It was very filling and delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States