Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was pretty good! I added more veggies and spices and didn't add the water. A great meatless dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe as written but added about 1/2 pound Italian sweet turkey sausage (cooked) and also added a can of mild Rotel (omitting the water) when adding the tomato sauce and paste. Also added 1/2 of a red bell pepper (chopped) to the veggies (mushrooms, garlic and zucchini). Took it from 4 1/2 stars to 5!!! Loved it as has everyone I've served it to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I added some seasonings but otherwise loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My kids and I liked it a lot. I've been trying to get my husband to eat lentils for a while now and thought this would be something he'd like but he didn't like it. Oh well, more for the rest of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I didn't use the sugar but otherwise made it by the recipe. Def a keeper in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This sauce is a great, healthy concept, but the recipe, as written, is quite bland. I made the recipe exactly as directed but my husband and I both thought it needed seasoning to help the flavor. We ended up adding salt, black pepper, dried basil, thyme flakes, and garlic powder which improved the sauce significantly. Next time I'll add these right away so that the flavors can develop while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was good, but next time I'll add more vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
The only part of this recipe I'm rating is the idea of adding the lentils. We always use jarred sauce and just add meat, fresh veggies & seasonings. We made spaghetti today & only had a small amount of ground beef. I remembered this recipe so we boiled up some lentils until they were tender & threw them in the sauce. If you have picky eaters, I would puree the lentils before adding them because you can definitely see them & taste them when you bite into them! I wouldn't say they taste like meat -they had more of a starchy texture, but I thought they were a great addition! Great way of adding some nutritional filler to sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Pleasantly surprised! Like it! 2 zucchini, no mushrm, no sugar (2 grated carrots instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Really good!! I made this with red and yellow peppers, since I had no mushrooms on hand. I seasoned with dried thyme, oregano, basil, sugar and black pepper. My husband and I had this over pasta for dinner and loved it. Plenty of leftovers for a great lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States