Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I like the concept of this recipe, but I think the sauce itself is bland. I added basil and oregano, but it still tasted bland to me. I think using crushed tomatoes instead of the canned sauce would be better. I also agree with everyone about adding the zucchini later in the cooking stage. I added a handful or two of parmesan cheese and that helped the flavor a bit. Some crushed red pepper would be good, too. All in all a good base to start with, but it definitely needs a little spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was okay. I used canned Italian tomatoes because they're sweeter. My lentils completely disolved into the sauce, but it was quite good. My boyfriend couldn't tell that there were lentils in it and he loved the dish. Definitely top it with some good feta. Feta makes up for the lack of taste in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
this was sooooo good!!! I'm on Weight Watchers and I will be sharing this recipe at my next meeting- it's only 2 points per servings!! I fixed some whole wheat couscous with it and a salad and was in food heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Ok. so I didn't follow the recipe at all but 5 stars for a very unique way to empty the fridge! I used leftover lentils, a diced sweet potato (small) instead of the sugar, celery, and brussel sprouts. The lentils thickened the sauce nicely and I served it over spinach tortelini! So Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
We enjoyed this sauce very much. I did as some other reviewers suggested and added Italian spices (1/4 tsp. each of basil, oregano, rosemary, sage and thyme) plus 1/2 Tbsp. of dried parsley towards the end of the vegetable saute time. I cooked the lentils just til tender and then added the tomato sauce and further cooked for about 20 minutes as the recipe stated - maybe longer. I didn't add the last 1/2 cup of water because I didn't feel it was needed. That may have been because I didn't have tomato sauce, but used canned tomatoes that I had pureed in a food processor. I also added 2 tsp. of salt - much needed - along with the tomato sauces. In any case, the sauce turned out delightful. I served it with penne pasta along with a green salad. The fact that the zucchini and mushrooms were very well cooked by the end of the cooking time actually, in my opinion, made the sauce more palatable for potential finicky eaters. Thus, while some found the initial cooking time to be too long because the vegetables turned to mush, this was not a problem for me. I thought it made the recipe better. I wouldn't have wanted to crunch, even al dente, the zucchini and mushrooms. Just personal preference. This is definitely a keeper for us; we like lentils and look for new ways to prepare them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This a nice vegetarian pasta sauce. I read all the reviews complaining that it was bland so I knew I needed to taste it and adjust it as I went along. Here is what I ended up doing. To avoid turning the zucchini and mushrooms into a mush, I started out with only the onions and garlic. While cooking the lentils I added some chicken stock and SALT, people, salt. I used only the tomato sauce, not the paste, and added heaps of basil and parsley and a bit of oregano and black pepper and more salt to it along with the sugar. Once I was happy with the flavour, I chucked in the veggies and cooked it another 15 minutes longer. It came out creamy and tasty. I am planning to eat some of it over cheese tortellini and some of it as a soup. I am hoping it will get even better after a few days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Unique! Delicious! Even Addictive! I love this sauce, and I'll use it again. It worked very well with some whole grain spaghetti noodles. Are you thinking "Lentils? In sauce? That's crazy!" Believe it! It's a wonderful sauce, and if you have the courage to buy lentils I recommend that you try it out! I used this in my first "heavy" meal while coming off of The Master Cleanse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byteful

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe but as other people have stated it does need some extra seasoning. While the veggies and lentils were cooking I added salt, pepper, and Italian seasonings. This gave the dish a nice flavor. I also think that next time I would leave out the tomato paste and add an extra tomato sauce instead just because the paste is so intense in this dish. We used Orecchiette or ear shaped pasta since the lentils fit perfectly inside the pasta dents. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was pretty good, but I ended up making it into a soup later by adding vegetable broth made with beets, and that was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I had to improvise the recipe, as I printed it our but left it at work. I boiled the lentils in some vegetable broth with garlic and italian seasonings. When they were about halfway done, I added some chopped onion and one jar of prepared tomato sauce. Served on top of cooked spaghetti, even my lentil-shy boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States