Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Use this recipe A LOT!! i work in mining camps and it is a favourite vegetarian dish. ( non vegos love it too) My kids "smash it" whenever i make it. healthy and hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Even Jimme liked it; very filling served on fettuccini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Nice texture but I needed more flavor. Used Beef stock instead of water and added some red wine, oregano, and thyme to give it a little zip! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was super bland! There are no seasonings at all. after I added the tomato sauce and realize how tasteless it was, I ended up adding about 1 Tbsp of Italian seasoning, 1 tsp of rosemary, salt, black pepper, and some crushed red pepper. Also, when adding the tomato sauce & paste, I did not add more water. It was still pretty watery and I figured I'd just wait and see. Never needed to add more. I also agree with the reviewers that carrots would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I like this healthier pasta sauce better than any other pasta sauce I've ever had! Not often that you get both flavor and health benefits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I followed Christine M's directions and it was pretty good but I felt like it was missing something that I couldn't put my finger on. I served my husband's with Parmesan (I can't eat cheese) and he loved the sauce so maybe that was it. I used red lentils and cooked them for only 25 minutes because they were starting to stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Wish I had read the comments before making this recipe. It needs some seasonning (oregano, basilic, thym) because mine came out bland. Next time I will also add vegetable stock powder after the lentils are cooked (in case the salt prevents the lentils to soften). Celery and carrots would add flavor as well. And also like other have mentionned, lentils are cooked in less time than what is mentionned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent one. Will tolerate variations and would still be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I'm on the fence about this one. I added a lot more seasoning, and it was still kind of tasteless. Wanted this to be good so bad. Always looking to eat more lentils. Even used chicken broth instead of water. May give it one more try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
A bit bland so I added some ClubHouse Roasted Garlic and Pepper Seasoning and CH Vegetable seasoning. Didn't take as long to cook as the recipe called for but we were using red lentils which I think cook a bit faster. Added some shrimp too which was a nice addition and we ate as a stew rather than as a pasta sauce. After all these modifications it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States