Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
I suggest adding the mushrooms and zucchini 10 minutes before serving, so they do not become mushy and hold their shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
this recipe was so good and quite easy to make. A great change from lentil soup. i have already shared this with a few friends who have made it and liked it. my teenage daughters liked it too. a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Makes a hearty, delicious, vegan meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
thick and tastes good, but a little sweet for my taste. I would make it the same without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I am impressed with the quality of this sauce. It is thick and hearty. I added hot sauce and Italian seasoning for added zest. It can be eaten as a topping on pasta, rice or tastes delicious by itself with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Wow! I was really impressed with the heartiness. Everyone who ate it loved it. I added a few chicken bouillon cubes, but it really didn't need it. The next time I make it, which will be soon, I am going to follow previous reviews and use italian seasoning and add the mushrooms and zucchini later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Added fresh oregano and basil and black pepper to season; could have done with more, though. Smelt great cooking! Will freeze the rest and probably eat as soup instead of pasta sauce. I used large, chunky mushrooms and they held their shape and texture well. The recipe didn't say what kind of lentils to use; I used green, which worked well. They cooked thoroughly but didn't disintegrate. Will make again. *** Update: increased to four stars because it's so yummy as a thick soup with wholemeal bread! Fantastic take-to-work microwave food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Great recipe. I added 1 cup of celery and 1/2 cup of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Great hearty texture. I added Italian spices and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Great recipe. I also added celery, carrots and herbs. My kids dont like lumpy sauces so I put all the veggies in my blender with some of the water then returned to pan with lentils and tomatoes to finish cooking - they loved it!!! My baby even had some of it as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States