Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Great hearty texture. I added Italian spices and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Great recipe. I added 1 cup of celery and 1/2 cup of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Added fresh oregano and basil and black pepper to season; could have done with more, though. Smelt great cooking! Will freeze the rest and probably eat as soup instead of pasta sauce. I used large, chunky mushrooms and they held their shape and texture well. The recipe didn't say what kind of lentils to use; I used green, which worked well. They cooked thoroughly but didn't disintegrate. Will make again. *** Update: increased to four stars because it's so yummy as a thick soup with wholemeal bread! Fantastic take-to-work microwave food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Wow! I was really impressed with the heartiness. Everyone who ate it loved it. I added a few chicken bouillon cubes, but it really didn't need it. The next time I make it, which will be soon, I am going to follow previous reviews and use italian seasoning and add the mushrooms and zucchini later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I am impressed with the quality of this sauce. It is thick and hearty. I added hot sauce and Italian seasoning for added zest. It can be eaten as a topping on pasta, rice or tastes delicious by itself with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
thick and tastes good, but a little sweet for my taste. I would make it the same without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Makes a hearty, delicious, vegan meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
this recipe was so good and quite easy to make. A great change from lentil soup. i have already shared this with a few friends who have made it and liked it. my teenage daughters liked it too. a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
I suggest adding the mushrooms and zucchini 10 minutes before serving, so they do not become mushy and hold their shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-79 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States