Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Love it! Will make again. I omitted the oil, added only 2 cups water and added a can of cut tomatoes (drained) for more texture. I severed it over Spaghetti Squash, a good pasta alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I only boiled the lentils for 30 minutes before adding the tomato sauce and I added in some Italian seasoning. This was enjoyed by vegetarians and meateaters alike. It does make a lot there were 7 of us and I could have probably fed aother 2 with what was leftover. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Great way to add lentils to a recipe for a vegetarian! didn't have any zucchini so used a carrot instead, also added some white wine , about a half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Bruni-Eprile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was OK but nothing overly exciting. Just tasted too much tomato-y and needed some kind of umph. But it was a different way to use up some lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very tasty with great texture. My meat-loving husband had second helpings. My 6 year old daughter who normally only eats pasta with butter also tried this dish and enjoyed it. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Oh boy was this good. Somewhere between 4 and 5 stars for me. Extremely healthy, full of veggies and lentils andd smelled wonderful. I served mine over whole wheat pasta. The changes I made were to: leave out the sugar, added more mushrooms, more zucchini,left out the additional half cup of water and I added the sauteed veggies towards the end as 45 minutes would have turned them to mush. Only change I plan on making next time is adding a bit of bite to the sauce.. shot of tabasco, a bit of cayenne pepper.. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I loved this and so did my boyfriend! I added a large, chopped carrot to the mix of veggies. I also subsituted a half cup of light, red wine when I added the three cups of water. I wasn't sure how long to simmer the lentils before adding the sauce (ended up being about an hour) but it ended up perfect. Next time I will try some spices like pepper, oregano, and other Italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
A nice alternative way to eat lentils. Heed this warning though: if you cook the lentils as long as this recipe suggests, you will have soup. It only took 30 minutes for my sauce to thicken enough to be served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Delicious. I did omit the sugar save 1tbs and substituted 1 cup red wine for 1 cup of water. I'm printing the recipie for my healthy friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula J Smithers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Every member of my family loved. The meat eaters and the vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States