Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Been using a similar recipe for years, no zucini. Great!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genemcfalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The recipe as it is doesn't have nearly enough flavor. I added oregano, salt and pepper and still felt it was a little flat. If I make it again, I'll do as others suggested, substituting red wine for 1/2 cup of the water, add more zuchinni, more seasoning, etc. I served it over whole weat linguini, but if I did it again I'd use a heavier pasta - maybe orecchietti. Very filling, though and a healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this as a base recipe. Add a lot of Italian herbs and its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was really yummy - even my kids liked it (I took out the Zuch. for them). I didn't follow cooking directions as I put it in the slow cooker and it really made it easy and turned out great. I sauted the veggies (except the zuchini) put them and the remaining ingrediants all in together and cooked on low for a few hours. I put in the zuchini the last five minutes of cooking so it would be crunchy. It was thick and perfect as a pasta sauce - not "soupy" at all as others mentioned. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Made this more or less as stated. Used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the paste. I couldn't stop eating it. Nice change for a lentil recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a great healthy recipe. I added the mushrooms (2 cans) and zucchini later. I also added basil, oregano, black pepper, salt and a bit of Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
What a great idea! I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and it turned out great. 1. Boiled lentils with veggie broth 2. Put sauteed veggies (including carrots) in for last 15 minutes with lentils 3. Used 1 can crushed tomatoes instead of tomato paste 4. Omitted sugar and 1/2 cup of water at the end We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I added chicken breasts and some italian sausage for more flavor--perfecto! Family loved it. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Wonderful!! I served this over spagetti!! MMMMMM... this is very filling and a great alternative to meat. The changes I made were: yellow bell pepper (needed to be eaten), 1/3 of a chicken bouillon cube, two pinches of dry basil, and scaled it down to 2 people. Wow, so good I think I might go back to my vegetarian ways!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I like the concept of this recipe, but I think the sauce itself is bland. I added basil and oregano, but it still tasted bland to me. I think using crushed tomatoes instead of the canned sauce would be better. I also agree with everyone about adding the zucchini later in the cooking stage. I added a handful or two of parmesan cheese and that helped the flavor a bit. Some crushed red pepper would be good, too. All in all a good base to start with, but it definitely needs a little spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States