Sicilian Lemon Chicken with Raisin-Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
needs more liquid, different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
So good!!! I made this recipe as shown except I added the juice from the tomatoes, homemade chicken broth, decreased the pasta by 1/3 and omitted the olives because I didn't have them on hand. Next time I may even try grilling the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wanted to do something with chicken and raisins, and this recipe came up. This is such a great dish that you can change some things here and there and it will still turn out great. I didn't have golden raisins, so I used regular ones, and I only used about 1/2 the amount, and I used green olives instead of black. I also didn't have any basil, bay leaves, or pine nuts, so I just left those out. It still turned out to be delicious. I thought it would just be alright--something I'd try once b/c I can't think of what to make for dinner, but this will become one of my go-to recipes. My husband loved it. I think next time, I won't drain the tomatoes so much. Also, I only used 2 large chicken breasts, and it was just the right amount of sauce; if you use 4 chicken breasts like the recipe calls for, you might want to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My family really enjoyed this dish! My kids thought it was a little too spicy, so for their sakes I might decrease the cayenne just a tad. I thought it was the perfect amount of heat. I cut the chicken into strips and tossed with the lemon juice, salt and pepper, and some fresh basil before cooking. Next time I will quadruple the olives. We love olives and couldn't taste them. I only cooked 1/2 lb of pasta which comfortably served 5 (2 adults and 3 kids). Any more than that would have been too much. This would also work well with Brown rice or quinoa if you are not a pasta fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This sounds like it would be an odd combination, but it was surprisingly good. Nice summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The flavor of this recipe was great. Next time I tried cutting up the chicken but sliced is better. Try cutlets, they cook more evenly. It was also good without the cheese. I did save and use the tomato liquid and added it to the sauce. You can simmer it down to thicken but I wanted all the sauce I could get to put on the pasta. I agree with someone who said it was restaurant or better quality. Used sliced instead of chopped olives and almonds instead of pine nuts. BTW angel hair cooks in only about 4 min. Thanks, Larry from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Delicious! I was a little afraid of the lemon zest (I thought it would be too bitter) but it complemented the flavour perfectly. I didn't drain the tomatoes, cut the chicken in bite - sized chunks and cooked it that way and used spaghetti instead of angel hair pasta, because we like it better. Thanks for this interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
very yummy. i make large quantities when i make this dish always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamanleyx

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I really like how the chicken tastes - being soaked in lemon juice before being cooked. Makes me want to do this to all the chicken I make! But the raisin-tomato sauce is just alright. Kind of took away from the fantastic chicken taste a little...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Terrific! Light and tasty, easy to make for dinner at home or for entertaining. If serving for company, be sure to have a veggie side dish or a light dessert. Can't wait to make it again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States