Sicilian Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
this was just awesome and very easy to do!! super creamy and very tasty, i loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Surprisingly easy and very tasty! Used it in Ricotta CAke (also found at allrecipes) and it was DIVINE!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I had some leftover whole milk (about 2 C), buttermilk (about 1 1/2 C) and heavy cream (about 1 C) so I impulsively made this throwing in 1 tsp kosher salt. I accidentally let the mixture rise above 200 degrees. Even so, it curdled just fine. It was delicious! We used it as a spread on homemade potato bread. It seems I always have a little bit of these various milks waiting to spoil in the fridge. Now I know what I can do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Wonderfully easy recipe and fun to make. Very mild flavor, and a bit dryer than store-bought ricotta, but perfect for anything you make with cheese as the ricotta simply absorbs the flavor of whatever dish you're putting it in. We made quesadillas, burgers, casseroles, etc...and the cheese was a perfect substitution for all other expensive cheeses we would've put in. Very pure, low-salt, mild flavor, and we ate onit for well over the week expiration. Keep in an air-tight container and it will last for almost a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow! If I had know it was this easy, I would have done this a long time ago. I couldn't find a ricotta commercially out there to satisfy my taste. I wanted creamy and fully flavor and I have found it. The only thing is I will try to use a lowfat version and see how it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
A VERY nice and creamy result. I left the heavy cream out (since others mentioned it was OK and it wasn't readily available in my fridge) and used 2% milk. Wasn't real sure what I was looking for to know things were moving along. I did bring it up to 190 and let it sit, and there WERE some curds that formed, but overall it still looked like a pot of milk. Reading a previous commentor's suggestion I reheated the pot again at medium low and let the mixture go until I saw separation of the whey and curds. Worked perfect. I didn't bother with 4 pieces of cheesecloth - just used one. I also did only half a batch my first time out. Made just shy of 2 cups worth. Will definitely do this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was really fun and produced some yummy cheese. Real ricotta is made from the whey leftover from making hard cheese. This cheese method is more similar to queso blanco or paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Looks easy and really good. I can't wait to try this. Can it be made with part-skim milk? I'd like to cut the fat in it if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I didn't have the cream, but made ricotta for the first time in my 70+ years. It's delicious and I'll make lasagna and use part of the ricotta tomorrow. The whey looked so nutritious and I decided to make a pot of potato/corn/carrot soup with it. I sauteed onions, celery, garlic, added carrots, potatoes, frozen corn and seasonings. It's healthy and very good. Now I just have to find hungry people to help eat it. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Next time, I'll be sure to use the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I'd say this will yeild about 2 lbs of cheese. You can freeze your whey in cup containers, use it in pancakes/waffles, muffins and bread. Anywhere a recipe calls for water. Be creative, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States