Sicilian Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is amazingly simple and delicious. The hardest part was finding the cheesecloth to strain it. Whether it's a "true ricotta" or not is not really all that important to me. It tastes great and works in recipes. I used it in a chicken recipe and it was perfect. It works well as a spread on crackers (try adding fresh chives or a little powdered ranch). Love this stuff! I'll definitely be making it again. I may halve the recipe the next time to make a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I do not use the cream and do not let it sit for an hour before straining. I will try adding the cream next time and this recipe uses more salt than mine and I think that's a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am beyond thrilled with this recipe. It is incredibly easy and delivers a light, fresh, creamy tasting cheese. I made 2 batches of cheese and my egg-less semolina pasta for ravioli. I got 12 dozen ravioli from it. Everyone loved the fresh taste of the cheese and requested I try it in stuffed shells and lasagna next. This was a fun thing to make with my kids as well! Sayanora to another item I would normally buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful! I am originally from Italy and find that the store bought ricotta often has a plastic container taste. I made this once and it was wonderful. Look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
this was just awesome and very easy to do!! super creamy and very tasty, i loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Surprisingly easy and very tasty! Used it in Ricotta CAke (also found at allrecipes) and it was DIVINE!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I had some leftover whole milk (about 2 C), buttermilk (about 1 1/2 C) and heavy cream (about 1 C) so I impulsively made this throwing in 1 tsp kosher salt. I accidentally let the mixture rise above 200 degrees. Even so, it curdled just fine. It was delicious! We used it as a spread on homemade potato bread. It seems I always have a little bit of these various milks waiting to spoil in the fridge. Now I know what I can do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Wonderfully easy recipe and fun to make. Very mild flavor, and a bit dryer than store-bought ricotta, but perfect for anything you make with cheese as the ricotta simply absorbs the flavor of whatever dish you're putting it in. We made quesadillas, burgers, casseroles, etc...and the cheese was a perfect substitution for all other expensive cheeses we would've put in. Very pure, low-salt, mild flavor, and we ate onit for well over the week expiration. Keep in an air-tight container and it will last for almost a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow! If I had know it was this easy, I would have done this a long time ago. I couldn't find a ricotta commercially out there to satisfy my taste. I wanted creamy and fully flavor and I have found it. The only thing is I will try to use a lowfat version and see how it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States