Sicilian Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Sicilian ricotta uses whey.. ricotta means recooked.. it is made with what is left after making other cheeses. This recipe for this cottage cheese is better with lemon juice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is so far the best homemade ricotta/fresh/farmer's cheese on AR. It's rich, creamy, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is just fabulous! It's so easy, and appears to be foolproof! Beautiful texture, and lovely light flavor. I served it to my husband drizzled with Italian honey with blueberries on the side. His remark was "what are the peasants eating?" It truly makes you feel very special. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have made great Riccota cheese using just the whole milk. After heating one gallon of the milk very slowly to around 170 - 180 degrees, I then stirred 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar into it. It immediately began separating and I let it sit for 30 minutes to finish separating. Then I placed a cheesecloth-lined colander inside of a large mixing bowl and gently poured the hot milk mixture into the colandar. At this point remove the bowl of whey for use in cooking, baking, etc. After you remove the bowl of whey, gently rinse the vinegar out of the ricotta cheese with a gentle flow from your kitchen tap water. Some people don't rinse at all because they like the kick which vinegar gives to this cheese. Others only rinse a little bit while others rinse it very thoroughly. It's your choice. If you rinse too much and decide you liked it better before you rinsed it, add a few tablespoons of vinegar back into it. When you are finished rinsing it, place the ricotta cheese in a mixing bowl, add salt (to taste) and then you can add anywhere from 1/2 to 1 cup of milk, cream or even buttermilk if you want a more tangy flavor. Use the whey for cooking corned beef and cabbage or a ham/cabbage/potato soup or a New England Boiled Dinner. Ham with noodles is also very good cooked in this broth. The slightly vinegary whey eliminates the need to add sauerkraut and it's really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am thrilled to death over the outcome of this recipe. Thank you for posting! AND, I made it is the kicker. None believes me, but tis the truth, by George! Thank you and my husband and grown sons and families do to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Fantastic. I will never buy ricotta again. It is so easy and taste is very fresh. I put it on top of penne with marinara, add sugar substitute and top with fresh berries and have even added high quality cocoa to make chocolate ricotta as a dessert. I love it while it is warm! I barely drain mine in the cheesecloth as it results in a more moist, creamy ricotta. I have made homemade ravioli for my southern friends and they said they were to die for! You must try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe was ok but it cost more for a gallon of milk than it is to buy ricotta cheese at the super market so I will probably not make again. Turned out ok with the fresh ricotta taste when I did make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is amazingly simple and delicious. The hardest part was finding the cheesecloth to strain it. Whether it's a "true ricotta" or not is not really all that important to me. It tastes great and works in recipes. I used it in a chicken recipe and it was perfect. It works well as a spread on crackers (try adding fresh chives or a little powdered ranch). Love this stuff! I'll definitely be making it again. I may halve the recipe the next time to make a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I do not use the cream and do not let it sit for an hour before straining. I will try adding the cream next time and this recipe uses more salt than mine and I think that's a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am beyond thrilled with this recipe. It is incredibly easy and delivers a light, fresh, creamy tasting cheese. I made 2 batches of cheese and my egg-less semolina pasta for ravioli. I got 12 dozen ravioli from it. Everyone loved the fresh taste of the cheese and requested I try it in stuffed shells and lasagna next. This was a fun thing to make with my kids as well! Sayanora to another item I would normally buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States