Sicilian Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
OMG! Never made this before but will make instead of buying at the store. Just like when I was small and got ricotta at the italian deli. So creamy. The ricotta in stores today is grainy with no taste and not creamy at all. As soon as this was made had to spread on toast and eat warm. Yum! Made italian doughnuts with it. They were to die for. Great recipe. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have been looking for fresh ricotta cheese in my area without sucsess. Being able to make fresh cheese like I used to get back home, well I'll make my own from now on. I'm from the Detroit area where you can go to an Italian bakery and buy a as much as you need. Out here in the Seattle area, fresh is not from a tub. I couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Montgomery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I know all these responses are a few years old, but, in response to Terry. Yes, store bought is cheaper but by no means better. This recipe is fantastic. I never thought it would be so easy to make ricotta. I gave some to my daughter to try and she said as soon as she tasted it she got out the crackers and chowed down. She never even shared it with her children or husband. I will never buy ricotta cheese again. The extra cost is totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I have the great fortune of living close to two cheese makers who make ricotta like I remember my grandmother using. Because I can get it direct from the dairy it's relatively inexpensive, a little over $2.00 a pound, and it comes in either a 5 pound container or two and a half pounds. This recipe, after seeing many, interests me and next trip to the grocery store I'll be picking up all the things needed to try this. I've always said that no matter how good something that is commercially made is there's nothing like homemade! 5 stars before I even try it because it just looks that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Older'n Dirt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I just finished making this cheese. And if I knew it would be this easy I certainly would never have bought the store brand, this tastes so fresh I can't keep myself from sampling it there probably won't be much left by supper tomorrow night. Good Job Girl and Thanks for the really good cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is better with lemon juice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is so far the best homemade ricotta/fresh/farmer's cheese on AR. It's rich, creamy, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is just fabulous! It's so easy, and appears to be foolproof! Beautiful texture, and lovely light flavor. I served it to my husband drizzled with Italian honey with blueberries on the side. His remark was "what are the peasants eating?" It truly makes you feel very special. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have made great Riccota cheese using just the whole milk. After heating one gallon of the milk very slowly to around 170 - 180 degrees, I then stirred 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar into it. It immediately began separating and I let it sit for 30 minutes to finish separating. Then I placed a cheesecloth-lined colander inside of a large mixing bowl and gently poured the hot milk mixture into the colandar. At this point remove the bowl of whey for use in cooking, baking, etc. After you remove the bowl of whey, gently rinse the vinegar out of the ricotta cheese with a gentle flow from your kitchen tap water. Some people don't rinse at all because they like the kick which vinegar gives to this cheese. Others only rinse a little bit while others rinse it very thoroughly. It's your choice. If you rinse too much and decide you liked it better before you rinsed it, add a few tablespoons of vinegar back into it. When you are finished rinsing it, place the ricotta cheese in a mixing bowl, add salt (to taste) and then you can add anywhere from 1/2 to 1 cup of milk, cream or even buttermilk if you want a more tangy flavor. Use the whey for cooking corned beef and cabbage or a ham/cabbage/potato soup or a New England Boiled Dinner. Ham with noodles is also very good cooked in this broth. The slightly vinegary whey eliminates the need to add sauerkraut and it's really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am thrilled to death over the outcome of this recipe. Thank you for posting! AND, I made it is the kicker. None believes me, but tis the truth, by George! Thank you and my husband and grown sons and families do to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States