Sicilian Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I took an Italian cookie making class years ago, and the lady teaching it taught us to make the filling days ahead of the cookies. Then, place the filling (half full) into zip top baggies, flatten, and freeze/refrigerate. When you are ready to make the cookies, slice open the sides of the baggie, and cut strips of filling with a long straight knife. It is then extremely easy to place the strips of filling on the rolled out dough that can be cut with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very tasty. I was trying to replicate a family favorite with this recipe and although it wasn't the same I have to say I think it was better. The rum gave it a nice kick and my husband ate the whole batch in 2 days!! I tried various ways of "stuffing" the cookie and found doing it as a pinwheel was the best (looks pretty too!). Roll out a rectangle of dough, spread fig mix over entire rectangle, roll into a log, put in fridge for 30 min, slice into 1/4" cookies. Bake at 400 until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
These cookies were so excellent, and a sweet reminder of my childhood. While not exacty as my grandmother made them, I think these were better! :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
these are really tasty. i added almonds instead of walnuts and i added one cup as two were too much. i also put less rum. i also added some more flour as pastry was too moist. these cookies are true discovery. thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
These cookies were amazing, one of the best stuffed cookies I`ve ever eaten. I didn`t use 1/2 cup rum, just a few tablespoons and I used 1/2 cup honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My 97 year old Sicilian Aunt Guieda is the "GODFATHER" of cooking in our family. She has been cooking since she was old enough to walk.. These cookie are absolutely delcious. I would NEVER want her to know this but, I must admit they are the best I've ever tasted.. shhhh please don't tell her I said this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Scrumptious! Can anything be better than home made cookies? These turned out perfectly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good! I added more milk and an egg to the breading mixture to firm it up more. I then refrigerated it for an hour and rolled it out before pouring the fig mixture onto it and putting half of the breading on the top and baking it as directed. They came out very well this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I dont know why everyone gave this recipe a good rating, it calls for wayyyyyyyyy to much butter and when you eat them it tastes like your eating a bar of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These cookies are terrific! The only thing that I did differently was to leave out the rum and added a few T of water and milk instead. They are delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States