Sicilian Easter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Lucky enough to have a taste when a co-worker made it. It's tender, creamy, delicate; love the flavor of the aromatic orange flower water and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I thought this was wonderful. It's very floral, which some family members found off-putting. If you're unsure about the orange blossom water, you might try reducing the amount by half; it's pretty powerful stuff. I might bump up the zest, too. Next time, I would blind-bake the crust and maybe omit the lattice crust—or bake the pie partway, until the surface firms up, and try to add the lattice mid-bake? When I set the dough strips on the filling, they started to sink down into it, and the filling's so wet, they didn't bake all the way through. The filling started browning before the crust was set, so I covered the top with foil for the last part of baking. Worth experimenting with this one, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a good, nice, but not a rich pie. Delicious on its own, but the taste is not very festive. I agree with other reviewers that the dough is very difficult to work with. 2 cups flour is too much, I added 1 3/4 cups and it was plenty. The dough is crumbly and it is imposible to cut it. I put it into baking springform and pressed with my fingers. It is the only one way that I could do with it. I didn't have enough dough to make the lattice strips. So I ended up making crumble topping. The recipe makes too much filling, so be sure to make large edges. The filling is a little runny but it sets quickly in the oven. I think the pie has too much rice, 3/4 cup would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Instead of raisins, I used pineapple slices to garnish it.With cherries in the middle,like what you would put on a ham at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
The taste was great, however, there was too much rice and it was way too dense and a bit dry. I would liked to be a little bit more of the creamy base so next time I will reduce the amount of rice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was a lovely subtle pie, really nice. I had a few issues with the pastry though, it seemed to be sticky and crumbly at the same time. I don't know whether that's the recipe or the chef, though, because I don't tend to use a method like that for pastry, so I could just be inexperienced. It was, as someone else said, quite a complicated pie to put together, and it took me quite a while, but I think it was worth it, although unless anyone gives me any tips I'll just use my usual pastry for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a Excellent recipe, It came out perfect and very outstanding Delicacy. This deserves 5 STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Very similar to the pies my Italian grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States