Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
With the exception of carrots, this the recipe my grandmother used 60yrs ago in Florida. Shrimp was so cheap back then that she served it a lot.(according to my Mom) I still use that recipe today & was thrilled to see you had it too. Its hard to find a seafood Res. that serves it. If served the same day you need less mayo, but if it sits over- night, you'll find that 3/4 c. mayo is perfect.. Sometimes even more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very good! I omitted the onion and added a tsp. or so (to taste)of Dijon mustard and a splash of white wine vinegar for some kick. Served with freshly baked potato rolls at brunch. Was well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was great. Just to say made it for me and my husband ended up eating it all. One change though. Instead of using chopped onions I used onion powder since I am not an onion fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was great made a few slight changes. First I used two pounds of shrimp shredded. Then I only used 1/4 cup mayo and added 6oz plain nonfat yogurt. Finally I used a sweet onion and a little less celery(not a fan)and added a tblspoon of lemon juice. Seasoned with a dash of chile powder, pepper, and adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I have made sh-sal for 15 years but I have to admit this is the best yet maybe it was the drying tips or carrots or hard boiled egg changes 1 hb egg 1/4 cup mayo 1/4 salad dress 1 tsp old bay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I know I shouldn't rate a recipe I changed so much but I really loved this -with my changes. I was looking for a shrimp salad similar to the kind I used to have in Baltimore. This wasn't it but it inspired me to try a few different things - to this recipe I omitted the carrot & eggs, used sweet vidalia, added about 2 TBS Old Bay (more or less to taste), a pinch of cayenne and a couple of splashes of worschester. It was FABULOUS! I served on crusty rolls with lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Edible but not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Dixon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe and found it to be bland. I added a slight touch of Old Bay Seasoning and cayenne. I so wish it was a "keeper', but sadly it is not. My husband liked it, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was good, with modifications. Like other reviewers', I used sweet vidalia onion. I also added a Tbs. of dijon mustard and a tsp. of horseradish for some zing. Chopped a few herbs from my garden too - - thyme and parsley. Then I hollowed out a couple of nice ripe Jersey tomatoes and filled them with the shrimp salad. A very healthy and delicious dinner on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
And it was shrinply delicious. Will make again with one change. Next time I will only put one egg. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_crystal_lea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States