Shrimp with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've actually been making a very similar recipe for about 18 years. It was actually taught to me by my landlord at the time. He was from Italy and this was one of his specialties. Unfortunately, tomatoes are lousy this time of year. I used good quality canned. I also tossed in some Italian seasoning. I served it over angel hair pasta, a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Not bad, but needs some jazzing up. A little weak in the flavor department. I prepared this a little backwards from the recipe directions, first sauteeing the shrimp just briefly in olive oil, then adding the garlic, and finally the tomatoes, basically just long enough to heat them, not cook them to death. To finish I added fresh chopped parsley (this definitely needed that punch of color) and swirled in some butter and some of the pasta cooking water to make a luscious, velvety sauce. Served this tossed with angel air pasta and garnished with a few piquant caper berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Didn't have tomatoes, so used ordinary pasta sauce instead. Excellent over pasta shells with small bits of broccolli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Made it as directed and found it pretty boring, so I threw in a whole bag of spinach. WOW! What a difference it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was delicious! I added fresh basil, chopped zucchini, crushed red pepper and a few other spices to the sauce, grilled the shrimp for a couple minutes and served with whole wheat linguine...excellent combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So quick and easy--which is key with 2 children under the age of 3--and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was a big success with my family. Used frozen, pre-cooked, tail-off shrimp... thawed. Poured shrimp/tomato mixture into angel hair pasta, mixed & served. Very easy and quick!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Good recipe. To cut the acid of the tomatoes I added about a tablespoon of molasses. And I added a few more spices. Very quick and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMIYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Rating this a four, even though I ultimately had to add a bit more seasoning to create the sauce I wanted. But I really, really like this recipe with a few minor additions and will definitely make again! I used canned petite diced tomatoes and probably 7 garlic cloves because some were small. After the salt and cayenne and simmering a bit, I tasted and decided to add dry onion and basil. As the sauce simmered I added a bit of pasta water to keep it from drying out before the flavors had really blended. Delicious with the shrimp over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
this was awesome!!! i will be making this again and again. lol but the only thing i did differently, was less tomatoes and added about a tbs of brown sugar, it added just the right amount of sweet with the spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States