Shrimp with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My husband and I really love this one. We substitute the roma tomatoes whit our home canned stewed tomatoes with green pepper, onions, and celery. That really gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was a big hit. A little spicy but I was heavy handed with the pepper and garlic. Can't wait to make it this summer with garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDZABINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Agree with Nene but also add sliced mushrooms to jazz it up a little more. A little cayenne and chili powder on the shrimp prior to adding the shrimp is a nice touch also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Rating this a four, even though I ultimately had to add a bit more seasoning to create the sauce I wanted. But I really, really like this recipe with a few minor additions and will definitely make again! I used canned petite diced tomatoes and probably 7 garlic cloves because some were small. After the salt and cayenne and simmering a bit, I tasted and decided to add dry onion and basil. As the sauce simmered I added a bit of pasta water to keep it from drying out before the flavors had really blended. Delicious with the shrimp over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Not bad, but needs some jazzing up. A little weak in the flavor department. I prepared this a little backwards from the recipe directions, first sauteeing the shrimp just briefly in olive oil, then adding the garlic, and finally the tomatoes, basically just long enough to heat them, not cook them to death. To finish I added fresh chopped parsley (this definitely needed that punch of color) and swirled in some butter and some of the pasta cooking water to make a luscious, velvety sauce. Served this tossed with angel air pasta and garnished with a few piquant caper berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
this was awesome!!! i will be making this again and again. lol but the only thing i did differently, was less tomatoes and added about a tbs of brown sugar, it added just the right amount of sweet with the spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This come out surprisingly yummy! I needed a quick dinner and this was a life saver. i used extra seasonings that i like and seasoned to my taste. i used a chunky pasta sauce because i had no tomatos. i also used cumin instead of red pepper so i can have the kick without the fire. just wasn't in the mood for a really spicy dish. My finished product was a 5 star dish but with all the changes to this basic recipe it was more of a guide or idea for dinner and i took it from there i have to give it a 3 for being a great guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCliffordLeopold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Quick and easy. I added zucchini, spinach, italian seasoning and a few other spices to the sause. Also some basil at the end and served with gnocchi. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So quick and easy--which is key with 2 children under the age of 3--and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is incredibly tasty for having such basic ingredients. I really enjoyed the simple flavors of this dish, it tasted so fresh and light. Next time I will add some fresh basil and maybe a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States