Shrimp with Lobster Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
We followed the recipe but perhaps because we have no idea what Cantonese food is like, were disappointed. It does look like the picture so there is no appetizing color to the dish. I love lobster and if there was to be a taste like that, to me I missed it. Over all bland and no special wow for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Awesome recipe. As good as any I've had in any restaurant, and I've had it in many "authentic" places. I added a little green onion and a few water chestnuts. Otherwise, I followed the recipe pretty closely. I can now cross this one off of my bucket list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Would never think to make this dish for my family. My H. asked me to make it for him. He loved it. Very easy to make. I also used chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Excellent!! I added chicken stock instead of the water. Also 2 T. of black bean sauce. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Not like the one from the chinese restaurant. OK for home cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Really good recipe, but I have thought the best Shrimp with Lobster Sauce have the fermented black beans added (should have at any Asian store). Just soak a handful and throw them in when browning the pork and garlic. I added these and this recipe is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Oh man! This recipe SO GOOD!!! And, very authentic! The only thing I did different was that I added some about a tablespoon of black bean paste. It reminds me childhood when my Dad would bring my brother and I to this one Chinese restaurant when we were living in Los Angeles. You know? The kind of Chinese joint where they have their Peking ducks hung in the window...And, they served their Shrimp w/ Lobster Sauce with black bean sauce (not too much, it's very strong). I never knew it was so easy! Thanks for bringing one of my favorite dishes from a restaurant I can no longer go to into my kitchen:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Lots of prep but once prep is done, everything goes quickly. Have made several times with no changes. Better than most Chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyc08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
My family didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Excellent dish! I have tried making my own Shrimp with Lobster Sauce at home making up the recipe as i go, but this recipe is amazing. I added 1/4 cup of frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States