Shrimp with Lobster Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This has always been my favorite to order at Chinese restaurants and I was pleasantly surprised how much this tasted like take-out! I never knew that ground pork was the "lobster" in the lobster sauce! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wonderful Recipe - better than my local Chinese food restaurants! I made the following changes which made it even better: 1. Dissolved a beef bouillon cube to the cup of water in the sauce. 2. Used 1/3 lbs. ground veal instead of ground pork. 3. Added more cornstarch at the end to make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Lobster "base" is sold at Amazon and I've been able to find the paste at AJ's Fine Foods - a gourmet grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRTUUSCOOK
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I substituted chicken broth for the water and added more ground pork. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is an amazingly easy and delicious recipe. I highly recommend it! Note: I added a bit of green onion during cooking (finely chopped). It added a great layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was perfect and easy. Made it for Christmas dinner and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
First of all, this recipe does NOT need all this oil. I made it with half the oil and there was still plenty. Enough to be greasy. It was ok but I had to add seasoning to the end because it was bland. Overall, not something I would bother with again although it was ok enough to eat. Too expensive, too much trouble (and I love to cookand was looking forwar to this all day) and didn't tast more than just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorzoiBabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I love this! You don't need a passel of ingredients to make it and its delicious. I Basically double all ingredients and make double batches because the family just eats it up. I sub low sodium chicken stock for the water as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I am a very picky Chinese food eater as I have been eating good chinese food for years. This is not something you would find at one of those super buffets. It's an exceent dish that i have been eating since I was young. That being said,this recipe was EXCELLENT! It's very similar to restaurant quality. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
this is very good...i turned out a little greasy for me but i think that is my own fault for not adding the beaten egg to the sauce at the end...i did add a few tablespoons of sweet red pepper for color (and i have them coming out of my ears in august)...also some fresh ginger and flat parsley...i served lo mein and enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States