Shrimp with Lobster Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am so disappointed in this recipe I registered just to be able to comment. I followed the recipe exactly. Only the shrimp came out edible. There is far too much cornstarch and far too little flavor in this recipe. It is nothing like the shrimp in lobster sauce I have ordered in restaurants, and I order it a lot in many different cities. The cornstarch also makes it very messy to cook. The sauce should be off-whitish, this one is the color of mud and has a similar consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe. It has become a standard now; even when I cut it to 2 portions. Served over white rice, it is 'authentic'. -tara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara_H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: North Springfield, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was great. I made it to the recipe the first time and my husband loved it. Next time after he sugguested a couple of tablespoons of Oyster sauce, he raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this for my moms bday and everyone loved it. Very easy and uncomplicated. I used regular sherry instead of cooking, and I did add some green onions at the end of cooking, as some of the reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Picky Hubby gave it a four star! That's a five to me!! Did use more liquids with chicken stock but less soy sauce as the color should not be too dark. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this tonight, tastes just like P.F. Chang's! I loved it and will make it again and again. I would be proud to serve this to guests. (I didn't have any pork, so I just made the recipe without it. It was great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this without the shrimp and didn't change another thing. Perfect! I served it with greenbeans alongside Cashew Chicken, EggRolls and FriedaRice. Great Meal, keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I make this recipe all the time - it's my favorite!!! I've learned that if you want it to look more, cook the egg in a separate pan and add in to the sauce when it's done. It's not so gray and bland looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I’ve made it twice. The first time I substituted Seafood Stock for the water and used Harvey’s Bristol Creme. It was awesome, tasted just like or local Chinese restaurant. The second time I made the recipe exactly like it was written (didn’t do any substitutes), but I doubled it because the first time we didn’t have enough. It wasn’t as good the 2nd time. I think the Seafood Stock added a lot of flavor. I will definitely use the stock in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I'm super picky about my shrimp with lobster sauce, so I was a little hesitant to try this recipe, having never attempted to recreate my favorite Chinese dish, but I am so glad I did! The only changes I made was I halved the shrimp and added water chestnuts and bamboo shoots and a chicken bouillon cube per other reviewers recommendations. It just really needs some sort of veggie, so pick your favorites and add plenty of them since there is enough sauce to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States