Shrimp with Broccoli in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Prepared it as is...and it was wonderful. Added red pepper flakes to my dish for a little extra heat. Served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I added a red and orange pepper to this recipe and it turned out amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great dish. We really enjoyed it and will cook again. We served it over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very nice. I used a 50/50 blend of sesame oil and olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used powdered ginger instead of ginger root. I also left out the water chestnuts and I used a lobster base instead of the oyster juice. I also added in a little white pepper. I know this sounds like not even the same recipe by the time I was done, but I believe it would have been just as good as written. You might say that my inventory dictates my recipes. Oh, and I used fully cooked shrimp. I should have thickened my sauce before adding in the shrimp, but I didn't so they got a little tough, but still tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Tasted like it came right out of a restaurant too. I made a few changes based on what I already had at home. I used 1lb wild caught frozen shrimp, powdered ginger, instead of peanut oil, I used olive oil and instead of chicken broth I used veggie broth. I used a store bought veggie stir fry mix instead of the fresh broccoli. I love lots of sauce in my meals so in a separate bowl I added broth with a couple spoonfuls of flour. It really thickened up everything. I will be making this for my family again! Oh, before I forget, I also added about 1/4tsp of cayanne pepper as I thought it was missing something just couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We loved this recipe! Tasted like a restaurant dish. It is very savory (not spicy at all as written) and delicious. We made 3 small changes out of necessity- (1) no peanut oil, so we used sesame and olive oil, (2) no oyster sauce- was still yummy, and (3) when it was time to add cornstarch, I pushed the shrimp over to one side and didn't add the broccoli until the cornstarch was thoroughly mixed into the sauce with a fork (added 3 Tbsp) b/c I didn't want the cornstarch to clump. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
My family loved this!! Even my picky eater ate 2 full servings! I added some onion and cauliflower to it and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I just made this dish tonight. It was simple enough to make and delicious!!! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I made this tonight and it was pretty good. Hubby said that I could make this dish for dinner again at least a hundred times. I made a few changes. I upped the garlic cloves to about 8, and used a press instead of mincing them. There were reviews that this recipe was bland, so I added an onion cut into wedges and about 2 Tablespoons of Szechwan spicy stir fry sauce. I boiled some udon noodles, then stir fried them in canola oil in the wok with some of the pressed garlic and oyster sauce, soy sauce and spicy stir fry sauce. I used tongs to put the noodles aside, then added the rest of the garlic, onion and broccoli and cooked for three minutes. I added the shrimp and soy sauce, Szechwan spicy stir fry sauce and oyster sauce. When the shrimp was opaque, added one tablespoon of corn starch mixed in a half cup of water, let it boil until thickened. Served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Althea LeBlanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used cocconut oil instead of peanut oil.And used one tablespoon of ground ginger instead of fresh ginger.I also served it with brown rice for nutritional value.It was easy to make and It was great!!! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Maultsby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States