Shrimp with Broccoli in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Sometimes great dishes/recipes are born of necessity, as was this dish tonight. As a Roman Catholic on Ash Wednesday, I needed a meatless dish and, because I am “hitting the road” again in a couple of days, finding ways to use the fresh produce in the fridge was a priority. An ingredient search quickly led me to this recipe and it was a winner for me. I didn’t measure anything – the beauty of cooking is that you can use ingredients to your own tastes rather than adhere to strict measurements as is the case, for the most part, with baking. If you want more soy sauce and oyster sauce (as I did) add a little more! More sauce? Add a little more cornstarch mixed with water or chicken broth. I had mushrooms as well as broccoli to use up so I substituted the mushrooms for the indicated water chestnuts, which I really think I prefer anyway. I tossed this with some spaghetti to which I added a good dab of butter and finished it all with a sprinkle of chopped green onion and toasted sesame seeds. It was a simple and deliciously satisfying dinner. I and my tummy are doing a happy dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe in hopes of finding the perfect garlic sauce. Unfortunately, this wasn’t it. This is very weak on flavor and just feels like it’s missing something. To perk it up, I doubled the amount of oyster sauce and also added a tsp. of sesame oil which helped a great deal. After reading the instructions, I felt this recipe lacked some basic cooking principles, so I chose a different route. After sautéing the garlic, I added the shrimp, stir-fried until cooked and transferred to a separate plate. To avoid the risk of a clumpy sauce, I mixed up all of the sauce ingredients (including the corn starch) in a separate bowl and then added it to the wok. When it was thick, I tossed with the steamed broccoli, shrimp, and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I chose this recipe because it used ingredients I had on hand. The only change I made was to substitute chopped celery for the water chestnuts. Although this was quick and easy to make it was very bland. The amount of soy sauce and oyster sauce was far too little to have any impact. These ingredients should be doubled or tripled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I added a red and orange pepper to this recipe and it turned out amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very nice. I used a 50/50 blend of sesame oil and olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used powdered ginger instead of ginger root. I also left out the water chestnuts and I used a lobster base instead of the oyster juice. I also added in a little white pepper. I know this sounds like not even the same recipe by the time I was done, but I believe it would have been just as good as written. You might say that my inventory dictates my recipes. Oh, and I used fully cooked shrimp. I should have thickened my sauce before adding in the shrimp, but I didn't so they got a little tough, but still tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Tasted like it came right out of a restaurant too. I made a few changes based on what I already had at home. I used 1lb wild caught frozen shrimp, powdered ginger, instead of peanut oil, I used olive oil and instead of chicken broth I used veggie broth. I used a store bought veggie stir fry mix instead of the fresh broccoli. I love lots of sauce in my meals so in a separate bowl I added broth with a couple spoonfuls of flour. It really thickened up everything. I will be making this for my family again! Oh, before I forget, I also added about 1/4tsp of cayanne pepper as I thought it was missing something just couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Hubs said this one is a "do it again". I used mushrooms instead of the water chestnuts, and served this over angel hair pasta. The sauce could use a little "kick". Next time I will add some crushed red pepper. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and fast too. pretty good flavor too. Could use some heat. I'll keep this one in my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Prepared it as is...and it was wonderful. Added red pepper flakes to my dish for a little extra heat. Served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used cocconut oil instead of peanut oil.And used one tablespoon of ground ginger instead of fresh ginger.I also served it with brown rice for nutritional value.It was easy to make and It was great!!! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Maultsby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States