Shrimp with Broccoli in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We loved this recipe! Tasted like a restaurant dish. It is very savory (not spicy at all as written) and delicious. We made 3 small changes out of necessity- (1) no peanut oil, so we used sesame and olive oil, (2) no oyster sauce- was still yummy, and (3) when it was time to add cornstarch, I pushed the shrimp over to one side and didn't add the broccoli until the cornstarch was thoroughly mixed into the sauce with a fork (added 3 Tbsp) b/c I didn't want the cornstarch to clump. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denaej
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was great. I couldn't believe how quick and simple it was. I'm not a fan of water chestnuts but I love snow peas so I used those instead. I added diced green onions. I also added a dash of sugar because it seemed like like it was lacking that sweet flavor most Chinese food has. I would suggest going easy the ginger because I used 2 teaspoons as the instructions said but the flavor seems a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was pretty good. Most of my family liked it. I will add bamboo shoots and baby corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great dish. We really enjoyed it and will cook again. We served it over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I just made this dish tonight. It was simple enough to make and delicious!!! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is quick and easy and perfect for those busy nights. I substituted 1 tbsp of sesame oil and 1 tbsp of olive oil for the peanut oil. I wish I had added the cornstarch before adding the shrimp just so I could adjust the smoothness and texture of the sauce. It didn’t have as much jazz as I had expected, but it was still very good and could be easily adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Tasted like it came right out of a restaurant too. I made a few changes based on what I already had at home. I used 1lb wild caught frozen shrimp, powdered ginger, instead of peanut oil, I used olive oil and instead of chicken broth I used veggie broth. I used a store bought veggie stir fry mix instead of the fresh broccoli. I love lots of sauce in my meals so in a separate bowl I added broth with a couple spoonfuls of flour. It really thickened up everything. I will be making this for my family again! Oh, before I forget, I also added about 1/4tsp of cayanne pepper as I thought it was missing something just couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and fast too. pretty good flavor too. Could use some heat. I'll keep this one in my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Having read some of the other comments .. I will also play with this recipe by using some mushrooms, celery, red pepper and even maybe one or two chilli peppers for a little kick. This WILL be a recipe I will use often. Flavor was quite good ... I like to bulk up my menu with lots of veggies so I will add more than the recipe calls for :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very nice. I used a 50/50 blend of sesame oil and olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used powdered ginger instead of ginger root. I also left out the water chestnuts and I used a lobster base instead of the oyster juice. I also added in a little white pepper. I know this sounds like not even the same recipe by the time I was done, but I believe it would have been just as good as written. You might say that my inventory dictates my recipes. Oh, and I used fully cooked shrimp. I should have thickened my sauce before adding in the shrimp, but I didn't so they got a little tough, but still tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States