Shrimp with Broccoli in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was pretty good. Most of my family liked it. I will add bamboo shoots and baby corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great dish. We really enjoyed it and will cook again. We served it over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I just made this dish tonight. It was simple enough to make and delicious!!! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is quick and easy and perfect for those busy nights. I substituted 1 tbsp of sesame oil and 1 tbsp of olive oil for the peanut oil. I wish I had added the cornstarch before adding the shrimp just so I could adjust the smoothness and texture of the sauce. It didn’t have as much jazz as I had expected, but it was still very good and could be easily adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Tasted like it came right out of a restaurant too. I made a few changes based on what I already had at home. I used 1lb wild caught frozen shrimp, powdered ginger, instead of peanut oil, I used olive oil and instead of chicken broth I used veggie broth. I used a store bought veggie stir fry mix instead of the fresh broccoli. I love lots of sauce in my meals so in a separate bowl I added broth with a couple spoonfuls of flour. It really thickened up everything. I will be making this for my family again! Oh, before I forget, I also added about 1/4tsp of cayanne pepper as I thought it was missing something just couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and fast too. pretty good flavor too. Could use some heat. I'll keep this one in my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Having read some of the other comments .. I will also play with this recipe by using some mushrooms, celery, red pepper and even maybe one or two chilli peppers for a little kick. This WILL be a recipe I will use often. Flavor was quite good ... I like to bulk up my menu with lots of veggies so I will add more than the recipe calls for :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very nice. I used a 50/50 blend of sesame oil and olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used powdered ginger instead of ginger root. I also left out the water chestnuts and I used a lobster base instead of the oyster juice. I also added in a little white pepper. I know this sounds like not even the same recipe by the time I was done, but I believe it would have been just as good as written. You might say that my inventory dictates my recipes. Oh, and I used fully cooked shrimp. I should have thickened my sauce before adding in the shrimp, but I didn't so they got a little tough, but still tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Hubs said this one is a "do it again". I used mushrooms instead of the water chestnuts, and served this over angel hair pasta. The sauce could use a little "kick". Next time I will add some crushed red pepper. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Sometimes great dishes/recipes are born of necessity, as was this dish tonight. As a Roman Catholic on Ash Wednesday, I needed a meatless dish and, because I am “hitting the road” again in a couple of days, finding ways to use the fresh produce in the fridge was a priority. An ingredient search quickly led me to this recipe and it was a winner for me. I didn’t measure anything – the beauty of cooking is that you can use ingredients to your own tastes rather than adhere to strict measurements as is the case, for the most part, with baking. If you want more soy sauce and oyster sauce (as I did) add a little more! More sauce? Add a little more cornstarch mixed with water or chicken broth. I had mushrooms as well as broccoli to use up so I substituted the mushrooms for the indicated water chestnuts, which I really think I prefer anyway. I tossed this with some spaghetti to which I added a good dab of butter and finished it all with a sprinkle of chopped green onion and toasted sesame seeds. It was a simple and deliciously satisfying dinner. I and my tummy are doing a happy dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States