Shrimp with Broccoli in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We loved this recipe! Tasted like a restaurant dish. It is very savory (not spicy at all as written) and delicious. We made 3 small changes out of necessity- (1) no peanut oil, so we used sesame and olive oil, (2) no oyster sauce- was still yummy, and (3) when it was time to add cornstarch, I pushed the shrimp over to one side and didn't add the broccoli until the cornstarch was thoroughly mixed into the sauce with a fork (added 3 Tbsp) b/c I didn't want the cornstarch to clump. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denaej
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was great. I couldn't believe how quick and simple it was. I'm not a fan of water chestnuts but I love snow peas so I used those instead. I added diced green onions. I also added a dash of sugar because it seemed like like it was lacking that sweet flavor most Chinese food has. I would suggest going easy the ginger because I used 2 teaspoons as the instructions said but the flavor seems a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was pretty good. Most of my family liked it. I will add bamboo shoots and baby corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great dish. We really enjoyed it and will cook again. We served it over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I just made this dish tonight. It was simple enough to make and delicious!!! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is quick and easy and perfect for those busy nights. I substituted 1 tbsp of sesame oil and 1 tbsp of olive oil for the peanut oil. I wish I had added the cornstarch before adding the shrimp just so I could adjust the smoothness and texture of the sauce. It didn’t have as much jazz as I had expected, but it was still very good and could be easily adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Tasted like it came right out of a restaurant too. I made a few changes based on what I already had at home. I used 1lb wild caught frozen shrimp, powdered ginger, instead of peanut oil, I used olive oil and instead of chicken broth I used veggie broth. I used a store bought veggie stir fry mix instead of the fresh broccoli. I love lots of sauce in my meals so in a separate bowl I added broth with a couple spoonfuls of flour. It really thickened up everything. I will be making this for my family again! Oh, before I forget, I also added about 1/4tsp of cayanne pepper as I thought it was missing something just couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and fast too. pretty good flavor too. Could use some heat. I'll keep this one in my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Having read some of the other comments .. I will also play with this recipe by using some mushrooms, celery, red pepper and even maybe one or two chilli peppers for a little kick. This WILL be a recipe I will use often. Flavor was quite good ... I like to bulk up my menu with lots of veggies so I will add more than the recipe calls for :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Cahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very nice. I used a 50/50 blend of sesame oil and olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used powdered ginger instead of ginger root. I also left out the water chestnuts and I used a lobster base instead of the oyster juice. I also added in a little white pepper. I know this sounds like not even the same recipe by the time I was done, but I believe it would have been just as good as written. You might say that my inventory dictates my recipes. Oh, and I used fully cooked shrimp. I should have thickened my sauce before adding in the shrimp, but I didn't so they got a little tough, but still tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States