Shrimp over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Yum! I couldn't get them cheesy enough for my taste, I added more than called for. I used mild cheddar. I also omitted the saute of peppers (we don't like them) and onions because we grilled our shrimp. I did add plenty of garlic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Well J.D., I'm happy to be the first to review your recipe! We're from N.J. but we're a grits lovin' family and I must tell you that my kids went HOG WILD over this dish! I'm not into processed anything, so I finely grated a good cheddar/parm cheese and it worked out great. Certainly a combination that I would never have thought of and with a good splash from the hot sauce bottle, we had a delicious meal in under thirty minutes. Thanks a heap J.D.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was fabulous! I didn't alter the recipe one bit and my family just went nuts over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Very good! I have never had shrimp and grits without a cajun flair, and I really enjoyed the straight-forward flavor of the combined foods with no cajun spices. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was awesome. My husband ate the whole thing in one sitting!! I did add bacon to the onion and pepper saute, which gave a little more flavor. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This dish was delicious! I made it for the three men in my family and they asked me to make it a standard dish. I didn't have red pepper, so I used a whole gr. pepper. Added bacon and grated sharp cheddar and parmesian as mentioned in other reviews. Didn't have grits so I used yellow cornmeal -so it was shrimp and polenta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Draper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I cooked 3 strips of bacon and then sauteed the peppers (used 2 whole), onion and garlic in the drippings, then continued as directed. When i told my husband what I was making he said "Gross!" but changed his tune-ate 3 helpings, raving the whole time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A great recipe. I've done a few variations on this, sometimes adding tasso with the shrimp or for a more Jamaican/spicy theme adding diced jalepeno peppers (without seeds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Awesome! I used quick-cooking grits, and it still turned out great. I cooked some bacon first, then used the same pan, including the bacon grease, to cook the vegetables. What a great addition. I also added a decent amount of seafood seasoning to the shrimp before cooking with the vegetables. My boyfriend and I like to experiment with new meals, but we agree that this is going to become a regular meal we make!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
If you can find it try this with the Kraft Garlic cheese that comes in a little tube instead of the plain processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States