Shrimp over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Well J.D., I'm happy to be the first to review your recipe! We're from N.J. but we're a grits lovin' family and I must tell you that my kids went HOG WILD over this dish! I'm not into processed anything, so I finely grated a good cheddar/parm cheese and it worked out great. Certainly a combination that I would never have thought of and with a good splash from the hot sauce bottle, we had a delicious meal in under thirty minutes. Thanks a heap J.D.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This is a quick and easy recipe. My husband raved about it, and thought it would be a good one to serve company. We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was fabulous! I didn't alter the recipe one bit and my family just went nuts over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Very good! I have never had shrimp and grits without a cajun flair, and I really enjoyed the straight-forward flavor of the combined foods with no cajun spices. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was awesome. My husband ate the whole thing in one sitting!! I did add bacon to the onion and pepper saute, which gave a little more flavor. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This dish was delicious! I made it for the three men in my family and they asked me to make it a standard dish. I didn't have red pepper, so I used a whole gr. pepper. Added bacon and grated sharp cheddar and parmesian as mentioned in other reviews. Didn't have grits so I used yellow cornmeal -so it was shrimp and polenta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Draper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
No flavor whatsoever! Even Tabasco wasn't able to help this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I cooked 3 strips of bacon and then sauteed the peppers (used 2 whole), onion and garlic in the drippings, then continued as directed. When i told my husband what I was making he said "Gross!" but changed his tune-ate 3 helpings, raving the whole time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A great recipe. I've done a few variations on this, sometimes adding tasso with the shrimp or for a more Jamaican/spicy theme adding diced jalepeno peppers (without seeds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
just okay, nothing special - the grits were not as good as what i usually make and the shrimp was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASCHICKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buna, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States