Shrimp over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Wow - better than I thought! Subbed 1/2 non-fat sour cream as I didn't have cream on hand. Next time will use more Old Bay seasoning (and a dash more hot sauce). But, for a first time try, I liked this very much! Used frozen, cooked shrimp (thanks to an amazing sale at the grocer) - and they worked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I thought that this was okay, I did find it a little bland, even after adding bacon to the grits. My husband said he liked it, but didn't eat any leftovers, which means he wasn't that crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very simple and delicious recipe. I used quick cooking grits which reduced cooking time by 15-20 minutes. I had Kraft singles on hand so I stirred those in to the grits and they melted nicely. Will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I have never liked shrimp until this recipe! I added just a touch of seasoning salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
just okay, nothing special - the grits were not as good as what i usually make and the shrimp was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASCHICKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buna, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A great recipe. I've done a few variations on this, sometimes adding tasso with the shrimp or for a more Jamaican/spicy theme adding diced jalepeno peppers (without seeds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I cooked 3 strips of bacon and then sauteed the peppers (used 2 whole), onion and garlic in the drippings, then continued as directed. When i told my husband what I was making he said "Gross!" but changed his tune-ate 3 helpings, raving the whole time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
No flavor whatsoever! Even Tabasco wasn't able to help this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This dish was delicious! I made it for the three men in my family and they asked me to make it a standard dish. I didn't have red pepper, so I used a whole gr. pepper. Added bacon and grated sharp cheddar and parmesian as mentioned in other reviews. Didn't have grits so I used yellow cornmeal -so it was shrimp and polenta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Draper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was awesome. My husband ate the whole thing in one sitting!! I did add bacon to the onion and pepper saute, which gave a little more flavor. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States