Shrimp over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good - needed something so we added Harry and David Hot rocks and that made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a great change of pace dish for shrimp. The kids weren't thrilled but I thought it was delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I originally made this for a bridesmaids luncheon in 2006. Only added sauteed bacon. Loved by everyone. Now I make it for my family without peppers & chicken broth instead of water for grits. Still terrific! Taste just like what I've had b/4 while visiting in Charleston SC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Heels
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I cooked 3 strips of bacon, then added the vegetables and the shrimp. I also just followed the directions on the grits package (not instant) and added the cheese (cheddar) at the end. Such great flavors, even without the hot sauce (although I'm sure my husband liked it better with the spicy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Half this recipe is fantastic. The other half needs work. The shrimp and veggies is very tasty. I only added just a few shakes of Old Bay and extra garlic. The grits need some flavor, they were very bland. Next time I'll use more than one type of cheese and choose cheeses that are quite flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERA1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Benson
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It was pretty good. I sauteed the shrimp in bacon drippings with a little cajun seasoning then combined the bacon/shrimp with the vegtables. Next time I will add more salt and pepper to the grits, and blacken the shrimp on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
great recipe! very easy to make. substituted chicken broth for water. next time will add more red & green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Pretty good! i made with scallops instead of shrimp and left out the peppers (personal preference) and then added a ton of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was an nice quick recipe that everyone in my family. Except my picky 6 yr old. Cheesy grits were very filling and countered the bite of the peppers & onions nicely. Next time, I'll probably use garlic salt & add some cajun seasoning to the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My company just left, and I just had to write a review of this awesome recipe. Everyone LOVED it, even my totally picky 19 year old! I had something similar to this in a restaurant last month for $24 a plate - in fact, this might have been better. I followed the recipe with these exceptions. To the grits I added crumbled bacon and salt and pepper to taste. In the shrimp stir fry, I used the entire bell pepper (total of 2) and also sprinkled it with a little red pepper flakes for heat. That's it. WOW was this great... and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States