Shrimp in Sherry Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Kind of bland. I added parmesan cheese and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I also followed the instructions for cooking on the stovetop, microwaving shrimp just seemed odd to me! I thought the flavor was good but would reduce the amount of flour next time, since my sauce got too thick too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Microwaving is not my idea of "cooking", so I totally re-did this recipe: 1 cup Cooking Sherry 1/2 cup Milk 1/4 cup Milk 1/2 cup Fresh Chives 2 teaspoon Dried Parsley 1 tablespoon Ranch Dressing 1 Teaspoon Olive Oil 2 Tablespoons Butter 2 Tablespoons Corn Starch Salt to taste Melt butter in sauce pan over Medium heat, in separate bowl mix together 1/2 cup Milk, Corn Starch, Sherry and Parlsey. Add to sauce pan, and stir, do not let boil. Add Chives and stir. Once sauce starts to thicken continue to simmer and add ranch and 1/4 cup Milk. Stir to mix well. Add Shrimp and simmer for about 2 minutes. Drizzle with olive oil and stir. Serve Immediatly. This version is really good over Ribbon noddles. I basically re-did it completly though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Good recipe...after reading the reviews, I used cornstarch, didn't use the microwave but the stove and added the dried mushrooms and peas at the end. Great recipe ... I really liked the flavor the Sherry gave to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I liked the ingredients but found that 1/4 cup of flour was way too much. I also adapted the recipe to make a roux instead of using the microwave. I had gone light on the cayenne and I should have used more, and the sauce needed to be thinner. It is something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I was not impressed with this recipe. I chose to cook the shrimp and sauce mixture on the stove as opposed to the microwave. The sherry and cayenne pepper were very strong and did not taste well together. The only way I would make this again is if substituted the sherry and cayenne pepper for cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made lots of changes to this recipe. I didn't use the microwave, and eliminated the green onions and cayenne, though they'd be fabulous. I used baby bella mushrooms- about a cup and used roughly 4 tbs butter in a saucepan, and sauted two garlic cloves, the mushrooms and 1/4 cup of onions in it. Then I added 1/2 cup of sherry. Let that simmer and then added the shrimp. I cooked the shrimp for a couple minutes, removed it, and then added about 1/4 cup of flower and 1/2cup of milk. I think next time I cook it I'll used cornstarch instead. I had to add a bit of salt but it was very tasty. I also served it over instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle Butte, South Dakota, USA
Photo by Schwammrs
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I liked this well enough--reminded me of something I'd have at Olive Garden or similar restaurant. My husband liked the sauce but not the shrimp. My 16-yr-old exchange student liked the shrimp but not the sauce. Go figure. So I compromised and gave it 3 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is a great recipe! Tasty, filling, and delicious. It's even faster if you use instant rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe was a waste of two lbs. of shrimp. I doubled it and it was awful. There was no flavor as it did not say to add any seasonings. I would not want to to waste your time over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States