Shrimp in Avocado Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was very simple and very tasty. I served the shrimp over herbed rice & drizzeled the sauce over the top. I then garnished with lime juice and green onions and accompanied it with fresh green beans. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I never made this myself but ive had it before and it was put on top of steak and serve with some potatoes and mac and cheese or something.. its very good on steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The sauce is very mild, almost bland, but it doesn’t mask the taste of the shrimp. I would add a little lime juice next time – but I still loved it. It would be easy to add some jazz to this dish to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A new favorite! I used butter and olive oil, sauteed 3 green onions and garlic for a few mins. added about 3/4c. of half n half, some seasoned salt, like nature's seasoning, and then mashed up 3 whole avacados into this mixture and reduced it a bit. What resulted was a thick, creamy, (but with good texture) sauce that I poured over toasted sourdough bread with shrimp on top,(they were already cooked)grilled asparagus and a salad of mixed greens with pears, dried cranberries and poppy seed dressing. A big hit. Take a recipe and make it your own. Use it as a guideline and suit it to you and your family's taste. This idea was exceptional and I will be making this again and again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kararae_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
excellent! i blended cream, avocado and creole seasoning in the blender to make it as smooth as possible. always, when i use shrimp, i marinate it in creole seasoning for at least a half hour. very tasty, indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this sauce and it was delicious...made it withzzucchini spaghetti n shrimp...what a great meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good "base" recipe. I personally thought it needed to be seasoned more,as others have said, but it's a great, simple beginning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delicious - I added sauteed onions & zucchini to make it a little more than just sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I just made this tonight. I sauteed a little bit of vidalia onion and a lot of garlic in a stick of butter. added about 2 cups milk and 2 avacodos. Added salt and pepper. I cooked the shrimp separate in olive oil and added redfish seasoning. Served over spaghetti noodles. Smells great and taste great! Thanks for the base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Tried it with a dab of pesto/basil olive oil mixed in, and it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States