Shrimp de Jonghe I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Delicious, but I used only half the butter called for in the recipe. Also I used dry bread crumbs instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe as written is not worth five stars but with some simple additions it can be. Toast the bread crumbs first. Texture is better. Add less white wine (I recommend sherry) and lemon juice! Fresh lemon juice. Just squeeze half a lemon over the shrimp right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Delicious and bad for you. I love it...I did cut the amount of shrimp, butter, and used Italian seasoned bread crumbs it was delicious and easy. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good recipe, I would absolutly cut the wine in half next time. I used Panko bread crumbs and sauteed them first and the topping turned out crispy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Succulant shrimp dish. I used less wine and butter like others suggested. I also used packaged bread crumbs. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This was delicious to my husband and me, but the kids did not like the wine flavor. I used packaged bread crumbs and cut it to 1 1/2 cups. I definitely will make it again (when the kids are away). I took some to work, and everyone asked for the recipe. just WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
TOO MUCH WINE! We cut back to a scosh over 1 cup and that was plenty for 1.5# of medium Tiger prawns. Also cut back on the butter & bread crumbs with no ill effects. The aroma, flavor and ease will make this a yearly tradition on New Year's Day! There were 5 adults and no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This recipe is great and very easy. It is great with potatoes sliced very thin and baked in the oven. Use the potatoes to soak up the extra garlic and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The first time I made this recipe I made it with the white wine and I did not like the flavor. The next time I made it I used water in place of the wine and I loved it. Also I omitted the cayenne pepper and added just a little more garlic. Wonderful! Update: I made this again last night using chicken broth, one cup. It was great! I also add some fresh lemon juice to it before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
SHRIMP DE DRUNKEY! Loved the recipe, but even with using 2/3 of the wine called for in the recipe, we were getting drunk from eating this thing. Next time.... 1/10 of the wine, and maybe just some water to cover. Wish I had read the reviews mentioning this as well. Hiccup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States