Shrimp de Jonghe I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As others have noted, there is far too much wine called for in this recipe. If prepared as written, the shrimp would be swimming in it rather than being nicely baked. The amount of butter, on the other hand, is more flexible and depends on how you intend to serve this dish. Since I used this as a main course served over linguine, a little extra butter was nice. So, if one was to prepare this exactly as written it probably would be very disappointing, and only worthy of a weak three stars. Having said that, however, since recipes are only guides anyway, it would be a shame to knock this down a star or two just because of measurements easily adjusted to taste. I didn't measure at all - just arranged the shrimp in a baking dish I had greased with olive oil. Poured in just enough wine to basically cover the bottom of the dish, which I would guess was only a quarter of what was called for in the recipe. I crushed some croutons for the bread crumbs, then mixed them with enough melted butter, parsley, and garlic to the consistency I wanted, just so that it looked kind of like a coarse, wet sand. I dribbled a little extra melted butter around the shrimp in the dish, baked for the recommended baking time, arranged it over the linguine, and let me tell you it was five star delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The first time I made this recipe I made it with the white wine and I did not like the flavor. The next time I made it I used water in place of the wine and I loved it. Also I omitted the cayenne pepper and added just a little more garlic. Wonderful! Update: I made this again last night using chicken broth, one cup. It was great! I also add some fresh lemon juice to it before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe as written is not worth five stars but with some simple additions it can be. Toast the bread crumbs first. Texture is better. Add less white wine (I recommend sherry) and lemon juice! Fresh lemon juice. Just squeeze half a lemon over the shrimp right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I'd so love to give this dish five stars as it was a tremendous hit at a party this weekend, but the two cups of wine and the amount of butter is the only thing stopping me. I used half the butter suggested, melted it in a pan and then added in my fresh bread crumbs to saute a bit. Additional seasonings, including an Italian blend helped to jazz up the crumbs. Because I love cooking with sherry and others had recommended it, I used that in lieu of the white wine. I sprayed my casserole dish with PAM and only used a half cup, if that, of sherry. When the shrimp were just about done, I turned on the broiler to brown and crisp up the topping. As I said, everyone loved this dish and with these few changes it will certainly warrant a repeat performance. Thank you so much Jenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
TOO MUCH WINE! We cut back to a scosh over 1 cup and that was plenty for 1.5# of medium Tiger prawns. Also cut back on the butter & bread crumbs with no ill effects. The aroma, flavor and ease will make this a yearly tradition on New Year's Day! There were 5 adults and no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This was delicious to my husband and me, but the kids did not like the wine flavor. I used packaged bread crumbs and cut it to 1 1/2 cups. I definitely will make it again (when the kids are away). I took some to work, and everyone asked for the recipe. just WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I really liked this, but I did cut back on almost everything. I used half the butter and wine amount and didn't use any cayanne. (Just don't like it). We added more garlic and it smells wonderful We ate it on top of warm bagette bread. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This recipe is great and very easy. It is great with potatoes sliced very thin and baked in the oven. Use the potatoes to soak up the extra garlic and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty good recipe, I had a few changes though. I used sherry in stead of white wine, increased the garlic and cut down on everything except the butter & bread crumbs. It resembled what I ususally recieve in nicer restaurants, so I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
More shrimp is definitely needed with the amounts listed for the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States