Shrimp de Jonghe I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe as written is not worth five stars but with some simple additions it can be. Toast the bread crumbs first. Texture is better. Add less white wine (I recommend sherry) and lemon juice! Fresh lemon juice. Just squeeze half a lemon over the shrimp right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty good recipe, I had a few changes though. I used sherry in stead of white wine, increased the garlic and cut down on everything except the butter & bread crumbs. It resembled what I ususally recieve in nicer restaurants, so I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I really liked this, but I did cut back on almost everything. I used half the butter and wine amount and didn't use any cayanne. (Just don't like it). We added more garlic and it smells wonderful We ate it on top of warm bagette bread. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The first time I made this recipe I made it with the white wine and I did not like the flavor. The next time I made it I used water in place of the wine and I loved it. Also I omitted the cayenne pepper and added just a little more garlic. Wonderful! Update: I made this again last night using chicken broth, one cup. It was great! I also add some fresh lemon juice to it before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Delicious, but I used only half the butter called for in the recipe. Also I used dry bread crumbs instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This recipe is great and very easy. It is great with potatoes sliced very thin and baked in the oven. Use the potatoes to soak up the extra garlic and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
More shrimp is definitely needed with the amounts listed for the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
TOO MUCH WINE! We cut back to a scosh over 1 cup and that was plenty for 1.5# of medium Tiger prawns. Also cut back on the butter & bread crumbs with no ill effects. The aroma, flavor and ease will make this a yearly tradition on New Year's Day! There were 5 adults and no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This was delicious to my husband and me, but the kids did not like the wine flavor. I used packaged bread crumbs and cut it to 1 1/2 cups. I definitely will make it again (when the kids are away). I took some to work, and everyone asked for the recipe. just WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States